Logo orange

Helen Pang

Boston, Massachusetts, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Helen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 34 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Yue (Cantonese); learning Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • science teacher
  • bachelor's in geology-biology, maste...
  • From Boston, MA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to be a real person...someday

ABOUT ME

I've been described as chill and laid-back by other people, so I'm starting to believe it. I love science and nature, I recently got my degree in geology-biology, and I'll never be done with school because then I went and got another degree in teaching high school biology. That said, I don't believe that school is where you do your most important learning. You learn most by doing things, and secondly by talking and spending time with people. This seems like what couchsurfing is all about.

I enjoy most things, even bad experiences because they turn into good stories. I'm up for pretty much anything, from jumping off cliffs and swimming with sharks to sitting around swapping thoughts or just looking at the stars or the air pollution or whatever. I love learning new things, and anything you've got to share will be welcome.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I was introduced to couchsurfing while tagging along with my mom, who at the age of 57 is an avid couchsurfer. She took me to Cuba, and we learned infinitely more from the local couchsurfers about the country and the people than we could ever have hoped to learn just bumming around on our own.

Interests

abandoned places, exploring unmapped islands, concept art, live music, percussion ensembles, magic acts, escapism, giving exact change, natural history museums, coral reefs, octopuses, swords, doodling, fonts, saturated colors, computer games, RPGs, thick milkshakes, good company, cooking, communist propaganda, gothic architecture, art deco, art nouveau, miniatures, mythology, Wikipedia, music visualizers, biking downhill, scrambling, long rides in cars and boats and trains, window seats, the universe.

These are some things that make me happy.

Music, Movies & Books

MOVIES: Star Wars, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Memento, Amélie, The Lord of the Rings, The Pianist, A Few Good Men, West Side Story, Léon, Kung Fu Hustle, Batman Begins, The Dark Knight, V for Vendetta, Persepolis, Moonrise Kingdom, anything remotely sci-fi from Gattaca to A.I., and hilariously bad movies

MUSIC: Beatles, Pink Floyd, Queen, David Bowie, Arcade Fire, Air, Mew, Muse, Andrew Bird, the Shins, Flotation Toy Warning, Ratatat, Crime in Choir, Sufjan Stevens, Beirut, Calexico, Trail of Dead, White Stripes, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Blue Man Group, What Cheer? Brigade, Quentin Tarantino soundtracks, swing jazz. As for the old-timers, I'm fond of Tchaikovsky, Beethoven, Rachmaninoff and Chopin.

BOOKS: 1984, Brave New World, We, dystopic sci-fi in general, the Ender saga, Song of Ice and Fire, the Hitchhiker's Guide, His Dark Materials, Wraith Squadron, Slaughterhouse-Five, Middlesex, the Sandman

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I once went night snorkeling in the coral reefs of South Caicos Island. We soared over a pitch-black alien landscape, our flashlight beams like searchlights probing the bizarre coral formations and chasing after scurrying lobsters and sharks. When we turned off our flashlights, I saw constellations of bioluminescent organisms floating through the water, as if the ocean had been dusted with stars.

Teach, Learn, Share

My parents taught me how to cook Chinese food, and I'd love to teach anyone else. I can also help you practice your Cantonese, though teaching you to speak it in the first place might be a challenge. I play piano, and one, maybe two songs on guitar. I've studied earth sciences and biology, and have an especially keen interest in animals and ecosystems. I draw and paint for fun. I've recently developed a love of biking (leisurely). And I have to admit, I love talking with other teachers or interested parties about teaching (it becomes an obsession out of necessity).

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Mexico, Palestine, Puerto Rico, Rwanda, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Kingdom, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Helen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile