Onur Kurum's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Onur’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning French
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • currently a research assistant / Coastal Eng. PhD student...
  • education is overrated
  • From Istanbul, Turkey
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

my current mission is to relax and take it easy

ABOUT ME

So I came back to CS after 5 years to update my profile and add my new friends from last summer. Apparently I lost my log in info for my old account. Why am I telling you this? Because I am a little pissed and didn't really want to re-write the "all about you" section. So, I am sorry if this is boring.
Well, anyway, I am from Istanbul, Turkey - I also lived in Ankara during my undergrad and MS studies on Civil/Coastal Eng. Nowadays, I live in Raleigh, NC USA and trying to get my PhD. During undergrad, I hated Civil Eng. and I was doing a lot of music festival jobs at that time. I was planning to get my CE diploma and get a graduate degree in Perf. Art Mang. or something and keep doing music/festival/production jobs. Well, I fell in love with my Coastal Eng. prof (not really in love love, she was crazy about it - I was amazed by her enthusiasm) and decided to follow her. That's why I now have a MS degree in Coastal Eng. and still trying to get a PhD. (things that happen to us) I am not complaining or anything; first of all I love the beach, the sea and the seahorses. Second of all, being a student rocks OK? Most of my friends got jobs now, they are practically dead, don't have the energy for anything. I am glad I am at least postponing the misery.

PHILOSOPHY

Empathy is the cause and the solution

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My experiences with CS were great - I first did it in Denmark. I was in Copenhagen for 6 months and thanks to CS I made friends in no time to hang out. I then opened my house to some surfers in Turkey. Unfortunately I lost contact when I lost my login info for my old CS account. Well, this is a fresh start.

Interests

I used to be more outgoing - now I enjoy things that I can do on my butt basically. Let's say, I prefer having people over than meeting at a bar - you know, having a proper conversation than yelling at each other’s ears. That does not mean that I wouldn't drive 10 hours to go to a concert. Music is indispensable to me. This doesn't change the fact that I am getting older.
I like to write stuff down every once in a while (it happens 1-2 times every year) and when I do, I like using tons of parenthesis and dashes.

  • arts
  • singing
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • music
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Almost Famous is my movie.
Led Zeppelin is my music.
Little Prince is my book.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

done: I hosted 6 French (+1 Baby), 7 Italian, 3 American, 3 Turkish (+1 Baby), 1 Irish, 1 Catalan friend in Istanbul this summer at the same time, under the same roof.
seen: I've seen Robert Plant singing for 2+ hours when I was 16. First row, 2 meters apart. It was a big deal for me at that time.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Romania, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Onur’s full profile. It’s free!