Bart Jansen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bart’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Creative producer
  • Bachelor in Social Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Energetic, highly positive and always curious about what's behind the next corner. I love making contact and get into good conversation. I work as a freelance creative producer and event manager.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I first got in touch with CS while travelling SE Asia and met some brilliant people because of it. Back home I had some foreign friends using my couch. But after a while I forgot to log in and CS erased my profile. Now's the time to hop on. Let the surfing commence! Never had any bad experiences; enjoyed 'em all!

Interests

  • arts
  • contemporary art
  • contemporary dancing
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • skateboarding
  • nature
  • meeting people
  • silence
  • great conversations
  • urban jungles

Music, Movies, and Books

Roy Andersson must be one of my favourite filmmakers. Am also very much into short film, especially since I've produced both short films and short film festivals. Music-wise I have a broad taste, ranging from modern classical music to minimal electronic music. I love to be surprised by music and am always on the lookout for new music. Furthermore I'm a big fan of the novels by Japanese writer Haruki Murakami.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Some time ago I came across a blog with the most brilliant hand-drawn movie posters I'd ever seen. They were made at this corner shop in Bangalore India that had been making them for about 40 years. I fell in love with 'm and decided I had to get my hands on a few of them.

I then went in search of a resident of Bangalore who wanted to arrange these posters for us. An intermediary was a necessity, because the small company doesn't work with hip things like a website or e mail. After a series of failed attempts, I found someone from Bangalore with whom I had two mutual friends on Facebook: a Dutch friend connected me to that Indian guy named Raam. He turned out to not only be a particularly suitable figure, but also quite a talented filmmaker who had just completed a fantastic short film. I loved it and Raam immediately gave us permission to screen his film during a film festival I organize annually. The outdoor screening was a great success. The search for the posters was put on halt for a bit.

In November I left home to visit India (New Delhi to Mumbai). Halfway through I decided that I could even get to visit Bangalore, as I was traveling without a real itinerary, I contacted Raam, who invited me to stay with him and his family. It was a great experience. The hospitality that I experienced there was unbelievable. The best part of my stay was a visit to the corner shop. Along with Raam I drove through the congested traffic network of Bangalore and finally arrived at the place that I read about nine months before. I met the artist, smiled so much I got cramps in my jaw and took home 25 brilliant posters. I brought home a backpack full of stories, adventures, life lessons, great new friends and beautiful posters.

Teach, Learn, Share

Things I have to keep reminding myself of: we're part of something bigger than our egos make us believe. There's a world outside our own begging to be explored, be understood, belong. I have a responsibility that goes beyond my own actions. Don't distance yourself; listen, stay curious, be humble, be sorry, struggle openly, give your attention, pick up someone else's rubbish, try not to judge.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love listening and sharing my imagination, perspectives, music and random associations. Furthermore I could teach you some basic Dutch, help you organise stuff, or make you breakfast, lunch and/or dinner. My girlfriend, who I'm currently traveling with, is an amazing mind. She teaches drama, theatre and communication and is a great coach.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Morocco, Myanmar, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Bart’s full profile.