Bart Vanraes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bart’s full profile.

Overview

  • 119 references 88 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • .NET Developer
  • IT Graduate
  • From Antwerp, Flanders, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

***********HOSTING ON HOLD DUE TO COVID****************
26/07/2020: The current situation in Antwerp isn't good at all because we are probably at the start of the second wave and the city is a hotspot
It's possible that we might go into lockdown again
Keep an eye on newssites like https://www.brusselstimes.com/
*********************************************************************

CURRENT MISSION

Meeting new people and cultures

ABOUT ME

Funny, social, doesn't take stuff too serious

I don't have travel plans at the moment but i want to meet new people from different cultures.

I prefer to meet interesting, open-minded and/or crazy people, don't worry I'm not a psychopath myself:-)
So far I met a few really crazy people, which is awesome :-D

Usually I'm in a good mood and i don't act too serious

In my 'professional' life I'm a programmer and at the moment I work close to where I live.

During my free time I go a lot to concerts, usually metal or prog.
In Belgium we have the luck to have a gazillion amount of concerts and festivals.

I don't have a car so i have to depend on public transport or my bike.

PHILOSOPHY

Be open-minded but never trust any politician.
Always try to do things that makes you most happy and completely avoid the things you hate.

I'm not going to write down any cheesy one-liners here like my brother did!
Also i hated philosophy in school, i had the most annoying teacher ever which didn't help

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have an apartment not far from the center of Antwerp, it takes only 15 min by tram to get there.

Since i also have 1 guestroom, i can host up to 2 people.
In emergency cases i can make room for up to 3 people, but then iIhave to sleep on the couch:-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I started to host at the end of August 2012 and so far I hosted around 160 people I think. (September 2017)
Because I was unemployed I could also show them the city, depending on my work situation I can show people around.
I've also hosted some people outside of couchsurfing: ex. friends of friends and bands on tour who needed a place to crash.
Sometimes I get a lot of CS requests during the same period so I have to turn down guests for that reason.

Interests

Music: mostly metal and prog, I go to quite a lot of concerts each year
Going out with friends
Technology & Media: I do video editing from time to time and I'm a professional programmer
Sport: jogging, i started 6 years ago and i'm still slooooww, but i wanna stay in shape.
Also biking from time to time.
Movies
Video games: i have a PS3, PS4, PS VR, Nintendo Switch, multiple controllers and a ton of games if interested
Boardgames and cardgames: yes the nerdy stuff

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Dream Theater, Devin Townsend, Unexpect, BTBAM, Leprous, Lady Gaga, Kendrick Lamar, Steel Panther, Emperor, Sufjan Stevens, ...
Movies: no specific genre (except for romantic dramas, urgh), i also like cult B-movies or worse from time to time
Books: I'm the slowest reader ever, so i rarely read (update: I've started to listen to audiobooks)
Video games: ps3, ps4, ps vita, ps vr, multiple genres except MMO's

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've hosted an awesome band called Botanist (5 people plus their driver), they played the Roadburn festival in Tilburg.
The day after we visited the center of Antwerp and I showed them around.
It was an awesome experience and they are some of the nicest people I've met.
Hosting 6 people at once is also my current record ;-)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can guide people around the city.
We have a lot of beers here in Belgium i can suggest.
I know a few specialized bars, including jenever bars.

I'm a lousy cook and i'm probably too lazy to ever become better at it unfortunately
I'm specialized in software development, but that topic can put anyone to sleep instantly:-)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Epic party tales & terrible job experiences

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Bart’s full profile.

My Groups