Basil Schur's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Basil’s full profile.


  • 55 references 42 Confirmed & Positive
  • No languages listed
  • 60, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Environmental education and green programs
  • Life experiences, university studies, travelling
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To build a more peaceful world through making friends


I live in Denmark, a small country town on the south coast of Western Australia with my partner, Ananda. I was born in Zimbabwe in Africa, grew on a farm there, immigrating to Australia with my parents, brother and sisters at the age of 18 in 1981. Since my days as a university student in the early 1980s I have been involved in environmental causes, including forest and wetland conservation, anti-nuclear and the broader green movements. Trained as an ecologist and a teacher, I work for a community not-for-profit organisation called Green Skills (see dedicated to education, employment and earth care.


Respect for others and self
Trusting the universe
Commitment to community

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I both host and have traveled with couchsurfing. Visitors have a comfortable bedroom in the home of Ananda and i.

I am able to host but do ask the folllowing; that prospective visitors travellers ask to stay ideally 2 days rather than just one night. . Great if you can bring food to contribute to shared meals.


Very positive and a great cultural exchange.


My home forms part of the small but green focused town of Denark, where I have lived for quite a few years.. I am Jewish, and like to support inter-faith dialogue and shared experience. I regularly participate in local meditation/sharing groups and have a strong interest in earth-centred spirituality.

At home I enjoy swimming in the ocean each day, cycling and bush walking. I sing in a local choir, play the clarinet, like to indulge in photography, art, and the cultural life of a vibrant rural community.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have been part of Couch Surfing for about 7 years and have also been a host with Wwoofing (www.wwoof, and have hosted visitors for over 12 years. I have enjoyed being both a Couchsuring host and traveller.

My overseas and Australian travels have been immeasurably deepened through meeting local families and individuals and making them my friends, and I too have found it special to have international travellers stay in my home.

As far as a couple of awesome moments I have experienced, these include being invited to be at the birth of the son of a friend, being often at the bedside of another dear friend as they were dying from a terminal illness, climbing one of the higher peaks of the West MacDonnells in Central Australia and marveling at the view, and many more !

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Estonia, Finland, Germany, India, Ireland, Lithuania, New Zealand, South Korea, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Zimbabwe

Join Couchsurfing to see Basil’s full profile.

My Groups