Basile Boulay's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 23 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Basile’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Swahili
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Used to be a teacher
  • Economics, Development studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

...learn learn learn... Drink Drink Drink... Sleep Sleep Sleep... Eat Eat Eat...

ABOUT ME
A pretty easy going person, I don't take myself too seriously. I practice sarcasm as a sport... I'm currently doing a PhD in agricultural and development economics working on Tanzania.

PHILOSOPHY
Well well well

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Host people whenever I can and couchsurf at others when I travel. I also try to help people who are settling in Nottingham by providing as much advice as I can and making myself useful if possible.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

All of them great so far. Have hosted a bunch of people and was hosted by some very nice persons.

Interests

Many and varied... Goes from discussing topics in economics and agriculture (my study field of interest) to languages, trips, music, books and so on. Since I have been raised in a world of delicious foods, I am also quite keen on tasting new things.I have strong interests in development issues and ecology and how those can fit (or not, unfortunately) into economic issues. I don't know much about it, but I'm very interested into crops, soil sciences and all this kind of things.

I enjoy cooking, the British countryside, old castles, playing card games, peeling mushrooms and giving leather shoes a good shine. Just the usual.

  • books
  • cooking
  • beer
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • agriculture
  • ecology
  • economics
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Quite heterogenous and easily changing. Generally classical and blues when it comes to music. Books include american literature (Fante, Miller, Bukowski), french classics (Balzac, Maupassant...), spanish classics and so on. I don't have a favourite movie. How does that sound ?

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Sunrise in the middle of nowhere in Turkey, not far from Canakkale.
-Enjoying the silence

Teach, Learn, Share

emmm... ??

What I Can Share with Hosts

A good meal for a fresh start of course!
Then, it depends on the hosts and their interests.
Usually the good meal can easily be followed by a good beer...

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Malaysia, Morocco, Spain, Sweden, Tanzania, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, France, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Basile’s full profile.

My Groups