Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bas’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 73 References 52 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish, Ukrainian
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Traveling
  • Computer sciences, school of life
  • From Zoetermeer
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please read my profile first. I can host, but live in far away from centre - if you are interesting in more than tourism you can come and see where people actually live ^^. Also I do not respond to requests in Russian or Ukrainian.

ABOUT ME

Like many people, I'm a package of many faces, interests and behaviour. I'm quite shy, can sometimes be silent but I also talk a lot. I don't always like big groups, but was in politics for a while. I'm an internet geek which loves the outdoor. I love travel and staying in one place. I like both sun and snow.

I'm passionate about books, music, films and arts. Unless I find it boring. I usually don't dance, but is known to be occasionally stagediving. I change myself every now and then, when I get bored of old me. Take your time to get to know me, for some reason most people like me.

When I was young ( before 2010 ) I volunteered, went into politics, worked some, drank a lot of coffee and generally had a good time.

I love to laugh, meet up with new people, have some adventures while doing that. Interesting plans: you can wake me up in the middle of night. Especially if it takes us to strange places.

I've concluded a travel of about 2.5 years taking me around Europe and South-America (18 months) .

Nowadays I am living in Kyiv, pretending to speak (and be) Ukrainian.

I rather have a solid no than no answer to any messages I might send. Really annoys me sometimes, so please just shout no at me whenever you please!

Nasty habits:
- vegetarian
- nightsperson
- shy in big groups

PHILOSOPHY

Everybody should live their live the way they want to without hurting other people. Nobody should live in poverty.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I keep couches occupied, sharing my experiences, thoughts and all those other annoying things. I fix your network, and other computer misery. I can cook although nobody ever asks. Oh - and I host.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfing whereever possible to get to know new people and new places. To seek out new lifes and new civilizations...

Hosted many people at my home before from many countries, also co-organised Zoetermeer NY-event 2009 and HC-meeting The Hague in 2005.

Has been on CS-meetings like the annual Berlin Beach Camp and the new-years camps of Warsaw and Istanbul. And many more!

My guest experience reaches from Holland to Argentina and all countries in between. I'll never forget my hosts and the amazing experiences I had surfing in all those different places.

Interests

Music, traveling, hanging out - partying, politics, literature, geekstuff, geocaching, hiking, the outdoors, culture

I'm very interested in all the things I do not know yet.

  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • literature
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • walking
  • partying
  • boating
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • communications
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Lo-fi Rock, Electro, Noise, Metal, Hardcore, Alternative. From silent to stuff that makes lots of noise. Think Herman Dune, Otto von Schirach, Eels, Sick of it all, Refused, the metals, the blues.

Books: I love good literature, but also read a lot of non-fiction mostly on social and political topics.

Movies are also being watched. Mostly on the side of indie / documentary / interesting stuff. I can recommend some cinemas here in Kyiv showing original movies in foreign languages.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Maybe the most amazing is the notion that indeed everywhere in the world there are nice and utterly cool people you can relate to, travel and stay with and see the world is not the dangerous and antisocial place a lot of people are talking about - but not traveling to.

- Walking from The Hague to Berlin
- Living in Berlin
- Boat hitchhiking on the Carribean sea
- 18 months bouncing around South-America
- Moved and feeling at home in Ukraine

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to make websites, how to use social media, how to cook vegetarian, how to find geocaches, how to curse in Dutch ( en Haags ). A bunch of languages somewhat good or worse. Everything else, I still have to learn.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Aruba, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Moldova, Netherlands Antilles, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Ukraine

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    16 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Bas’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups