BEATDRUMMER's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see BEATDRUMMER’s full profile.

Overview

  • 41 references 38 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 76, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Retired Special Education Educator, and School Psychologist
  • B.A. Psychology, M.S. Special Education, Licensed School ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travel via motorcycle to new places. Traveled the east coast, Canada, Newfoundland summer of 2010 w/son Matt. Traveled to the Florida Keys w/ wife 2013 (Spring), Pennsylvania (Summer) via MC and solo to Monterey Jazz Festival, CA.(Sept.) .
Now that my wife Chris has retired from a career teaching (Pre-school, kindergarten, first and third grades), she is able to join with me. (She has "paid her dues").
Took a trip to Acadia National Park and also Antigua, Guatemala during summer 2019.
We were involved in an immersion Spanish school to at least get some conversational Spanish skills.

ABOUT ME

Played drums to earn my way through college. Employed in the public school system since graduation. Now that I am retired from a paying job, it is time to travel and finish the uncompleted projects.
Chris enjoys travel, reading, working with children, gardening, and riding the motorcycle with me.

PHILOSOPHY

A little bit of something good is better than none at all.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

The best contribution I can make is to influence others to keep a positive outlook on life.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have stayed with Suat in Whitehorse, Yukon as an "official" first couch surfing experience during my 7 week, 13,000+ mile motorcycle trek in the summer of 2009. That is, using the web site to obtain a place to sleep for the night. My son and I were able to spend the night with two other CS hosts during our 2010 month long trip on motorcycles to Canada and Newfoundland. Traveled with wife Chris to the Florida Keys via motorcycle in 2013. Hosted by two couchsurfers (St. Augustine and Hollywood, FL) which made the trip even more enjoyable. In the fall of 2013, over a period of five weeks, I enjoyed visits with numerous CS hosts traveling to and from South Carolina and California to enjoy the Monterey Jazz Festival. Summer 2017 went to Rhode Island for Jazz Band Camp. Highlights of the trip included stops in Harrisburg couchsurfing with super hosts.
We have enjoyed hosting surfers over the years. Extremely positive experiences! Looking forward to meeting and hosting more in the future.

Interests

Audio and video, drums and percussion, Jazz, motorcycles, scuba diving, swimming(I swim 7 days a week), numerous projects (I built our two story garage with a studio upstairs). I am also a semi-vegetarian (Pescetarian), having gravitated towards eating seafood. Salmon and Steelhead Trout are a weakness. I have an interest in cycling and biked for four days across South Carolina to Georgia in May, 2011.

  • sharing experiences

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies, music, and books that stick with you. That is, they stand the test of time and you will always remember them.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled from Greenville, South Carolina to Southern California, to Canada, to the Yukon, to Alaska, back to the Yukon, back to and across Canada to Toronto, and south to home. I did this primarily alone on my motorcycle. Rode over 13,000 miles for a period of 7 weeks. It was too short of a trip! I told my wife that I was having so much fun, that I lost all track of time!

My follow-up most amazing thing was to travel with my wife from South Carolina, to California, to Canada, and back into the United States, camping much of the way. Oh, my dog rode on the back and our cat rode up front in the fairing.

One of the many nice perks of couchsurfing is making friends for life. I stopped in Roswell, NM on one of my motorcycle trips to California. My host contacted me several years later, informing me that she and her mother would be touring the east coast and wanted to stop by. They stayed for several days and it was great to rekindle our friendship!

Teach, Learn, Share

In addition to working in the field of Special Education, and as a School Psychologist, I have taught drumming and swimming skills. I have been volunteering teaching swimming skills each summer for the American Red Cross for the past 40+ years.

What I Can Share with Hosts

In the summer, our pool may be a nice opportunity to refresh/recharge yourself on your travels.
Almost anytime is a great time to check out downtown Greenville (now a popular destination in the U.S.A.), the nearby Smokey Mts. and Blue Ridge Parkway. I may be able to share my motorcycle or car for travel.
Bicycles will likely be available to ride the Swamp Rabbit Trail... now a nationally recognized walking, jogging, biking trail.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Guatemala, Mexico, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Guam, United States

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see BEATDRUMMER’s full profile.

My Groups