Ben T.'s Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile.

Overview

  • 76 references 57 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning French, Russian
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Graphic & Web Designer, Photographer
  • B.A. in Social Anthropology
  • From Munich, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

"The only true voyage of discovery, the only fountain of Eternal Youth, would be not to visit strange lands but to possess other eyes, to behold the universe through the eyes of another, of a hundred others, to behold the hundred universes that each of them beholds, that each of them is."
— Marcel Proust

| AVAILABILITY |

I'm not hosting right now because I live in my backpack for a few months, but I'm happy to meet up :) I'll start hosting again, when I have a door to open.

| IMPORTANT (for guests) |

I'm more likely to host you if I can see in your request that you read my profile. One or two lines are plenty, I know that you have to write a lot of them and don't mind otherwise copy/pasted messages.

For me, Couchsurfing is about getting to know people and personalising your request shows me that you feel the same way. There should be plenty of things in my profile to go off of, just reference something that sparks your interest.

Please message me at least 3 days in advance. You can try your luck, but your chances aren't high otherwise.

If you're new to the platform, check out this comprehensive guide to Couchsurfing [the original link doesn't work anymore, but there is still an archived version around]: https://web.archive.org/web/20220527211703/https://projecthustle.org/couchsurfing-guide

One last thing: I can only host two people at a time — I would host more, but I simply don't have enough space available to comfortably accomplish that.

| ABOUT ME |

I was a university student in Munich and I completed my bachelor's degree in social anthropology in March 2020. Nowadays, I spend my time working as a designer (mostly graphic design, but also web design, UX/UI, and motion design), taking photos with my trusty Canon 700D, and producing electronic music. In 2023 I moved to Barcelona, where I'll stay until late 2024 (at least).

Before all that I also wrote movie reviews for my blog, I was a waiter, threw color bombs at people professionally and much much more.

Oh. And I love travelling a lot, of course. Whenever that's financially possible at least... Yep, poor freelancers are still a thing! ;)

Since my partner Mona is often travelling and hosting with me, here's a short bio of them as well: They are a newbie when it comes to the surfing part of Couchsurfing, albeit experienced as a host. Mona loves good stories and reads a lot of fiction and non-fiction literature, enjoys good music of various genres and is just a delight to have around for their curiosity and their natural talent to appreciate and inspire. Their love for stories comes in handy in their professional life too, they are an aspiring writer and journalist in the making who just graduated their Master's degree.

| PHILOSOPHY |

1. Live life the way it presents itself.
2. Contentment is above wealth :)
3. Good ideas are always crazy until they're not.
4. When you think you've been buried, you've been planted. Grow.

| CURRENT MISSIONS |

- Cleaning up and updating this profile...
- Getting to know new places, people and cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

| COUCHSURFING BINGO |

Rules: Write me a message saying BINGO if you have done 5 of the things on this list (I've done all of those). Feel free to add a story if you want to :)

- Went to a Couch Crash/Invasion
- Went to a Couchsurfing Camp
- Received an offer to stay in response to an open trip, and it was NOT a nudist
- Used hangouts
- Wrote a successful emergency couch group post
- Attended an event
- Stayed at one host's place together with 30 other people (at the same time)
- Stayed with an ambassador
- Stayed with a nudist
- Stayed with a Couchsurfer on the same day I wrote the request
- Stayed in the same bed with a host
- Stayed with the same host for 14 days or more
- Hosted a CS guest within less than 12 hours before arrival
- Hosted a CS guest in my tent on a music festival
- Hosted a CS event
- Became close friends with a guest/host
- Had a relationship with a guest/host
- Spontaneously extended a Couchsurfer's stay
- Changed/Challenged my world view thanks to a Couchsurfer
- Travelled together with a Couchsurfer I didn't know before
- Actually taught something from the "Teach, Learn, Share" section
- Did something not according to official CS rules
- Got temporarily banned from CS
- Reported something
- Discovered something new about myself thanks to another Couchsurfer

| COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE |

I did pretty much the full extent of things you can do with this great platform in its current state. I started using it for surfing when I was 17, later discovered the amazing events and also tried out the hangout feature of the app a couple of times. Since 2017 I'm hosting as well — and I just love everything about it! I love getting to know all those kind Couchsurfers from all over the world and I'm very much looking forward to meeting YOU next :)
Why I'm on here? I love hearing the stories people tell who live in other places. The sense of community. The openness. The heartfelt warmth and helpfulness.

| TRIPS |

2013 Cologne to visit the Gamescom - Thank you Florian!
2013/14 London (New Year's Eve) - Thank you Anna!
2014/15 Amsterdam (New Year's Eve) - Thank you Louis!
2015 Amsterdam again, for the Amsterdam Music festival - Thank you Louis (again) :)
2015 Mannheim for an open Day at Pop Academy – Thank you Carmen!
2015/16 Moscow/ St. Petersburg (New Year's Eve) - Thank you Nastja!
2016 Berlin for a Bonobo concert – Thank you Lille!
2016/17 Budapest for New Year's Eve and a very spontaneous trip to Krakow afterwards - Thank you Abel and Joanna!
2018/19 Oslo for NYE — Thanks so much for hosting me, Audun :)
2019 Focused on hosting and university, but hitchhiked through Germany and the Netherlands and stayed with the wonderful Ginema for a night, thank you so much!
2019/20 Harz for NYE with my good friend and former CS guest Nicky. Thank you so much for the amazing time there :)
2020 Trip to Berlin where I was hosted by the wonderful Aga and by Tetsuaki. Thank you so much guys!
2020 Trip to Graz to visit a close friend and to experience the city for the first time. Thanks so much Simone and Ben for your hospitality :)
2020 Trip to Berlin. Thank you Maggie for the amazing time!
2022 Hitchhiked to Nijmegen to visit my long-time friend and former CS guest Nicky.
2022 Hitchhiked to Normandy for a fundraiser called BreakOut. Thanks so much Stéphan and Nathalie for hosting us when we thought we were stranded, and thanks to the friendly folks in Paris who hosted us for the last night of our trip.
2023 Hitch-hiking trip around the Baltic Sea with my partner, Mona. Thanks so much to all the hosts and amazing people who enriched and enabled this trip!
2024 Small hitchhiking trip to Malaga with my partner Mo. Thanks so much Maria for hosting us in Malaga (off-platform).
2024 Starting June, I'll be travelling by hitchhiking through Spain, Portugal and other European countries. No set end date. I'll stop when I don't want to travel anymore, so it could be a while. Looking forward to all the people I'll meet on the way :)

Interests

  • design
  • photography
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • podcasts
  • music
  • cycling
  • snowboarding
  • psychology
  • hitchhiking
  • art
  • people
  • tv shows
  • boardgames

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm mostly into Classical, Jazz and Electronic music and recently I started to get a bit into Hip-Hop, Metal, Rock and Rap as well. The music that catches me the most is such that crosses borders between genres. I'm always looking to expand my horizon and always looking for recommendations! I like all different kinds of movies and series and although I tend to enjoy comedies most, I don't mind the occasional Fantasy, Drama, Action or Thriller movie either. When it comes to books I'll usually either read study-related stuff or fiction. I don't read much, though. ^^

Here are some honorable mentions in no particular order:

| MUSIC |

- Røyksopp.
- Poldoore.
- Wax Tailor.
- Armin van Buuren.
- Parov Stelar.
- Proleter.
- CHINAH.
- Oliver Koletzki.
- Camo & Krooked.
- Savant.
- alt-J.
- Tame Impala.
- Alfa Mist.
- Shake Stew.
- Hugo Kant.
- Wintersun.
- Flox.
- BADBADNOTGOOD.
- The Dø.
- The Shoes.
- Isaac Delusion.
- Jamie Woon.
- Jamie xx.
- Nils Frahm.

| MOVIES |

- Forrest Gump.
- The Fall (by Dan Gilroy).
- 3 Idiots.
- Bang Bang Club.
- What we do in the shadows.
- The Lord of the Rings.
- Beautiful Mind.
- American Beauty.
- Guardians of the Galaxy.
- Django Unchained.
- Kingsmen.
- Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind.
- Dr. Strange.
- Pan's Labyrinth.
- The Truman Show.
- Shawshank Redemption.
- The Big Lebowski.
- The Dark Knight Trilogy.
- Her.
- Star Wars (up to VI + Rogue One).
- Monty Python Movies (especially: The Meaning of Life, The Life of Brian, Monty Python and the Holy Grail)

| SERIES |

- Friends.
- How I met your mother.
- Community.
- Californication.
- Modern Family.
- Game of Thrones.
- Sense8.
- Limitless.
- Vikings.
- Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.
- Atypical.
- The End of the F****** World.
- Master of None.
- Sexual Education.
- The Americans
- Mindhunter

| BOOKS |

- George R. R. Martin: A song of Ice and Fire.
- J. R. R. Tolkien: The Hobbit + Lord of the Rings.
- Rebecca Solnit: A field guide to getting lost.
- Hermann Hesse: Siddhartha.

and many more...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It's difficult to break this down to one single thing. Many of the most amazing things that happened in my life are in some way related to this platform though – amazing people met, interesting events attended and stunning places seen. I'll get into the details in private once we get to know each other a bit better :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you:
- How to tie your shoes incredibly fast
- How to shit-talk properly
- German and Bavarian
- Photography
- Graphic Design
- Music production
- InDesign/Illustrator/Photoshop...

I want to learn/improve:
- marketing
- Spanish

I want to share:
- stories and anecdotes
- experiences
- self-cooked food
- good times
- board game nights
- nights out
- travels together

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can, and want to, share good times together, as well as fun experiences, food and knowledge.
I have a lot of interest in how other people perceive the world and I'm working on some projects regarding the subject.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben’s full profile.

My Groups