Benjamin Cook's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • I do what I can. Currently I'm a commercial fishermen in ...
  • I have a B.S. in Marine Biology from UC Santa Cruz. One y...
  • From Montague, CA USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm looking to see the world through the eyes of folks that live in it.

ABOUT ME

Hi! Thanks for reading! Some of the strange things about me include that I grew up on an exotic animal ranch in S. Oregon and I attended a one room school house for 9 years, with 20 students total.

I've held jobs as a firemen in MN. Worked on a fish farm in Ullapool Scotland, vineyard laborer in S. Italy, construction in North Pole AK through the winter, oyster researcher in Florida and a couple other bizarre ones.

I've been out of the couch surfing community for quite awhile now, so I have some catching up to do. I'm back in the icy north, living and working out of Homer, Alaska as a commercial fishermen.

I have plenty of entertaining traveling stories and am looking forward to hearing yours. Happy trails.

PHILOSOPHY

You might get it wrong the first time, but, trust me, it will be a great story in retrospect.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would love to host however right now I'm living were I work. So, for now I can not return the favors to all the couches I have been privileged to stay on.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosting is just as amazing as surfing. I have had nothing but positive experiences meeting people from right next door to the other side of the world. I hope you all are having the same luck.

Interests

Backpacking, beaches, traveling, meeting new folks, beaches, running, canoeing, kayaking, agriculture, aquaculture and did I mention beaches.

  • animals
  • fish
  • running
  • working out
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • fishing
  • backpacking
  • canoeing
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • agriculture
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies 180 degrees South is my favorite. Sita Sings the Blues, Life Aquatic, Surfs Up, The Lives of Others, Mongol, Paul, and the list goes on.
I am always interested in a new book. I tend to drift toward humorous travel books.
I love music so if you have some no matter what it would be great to hear it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Singapore

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile. It’s free!