Benjamin Garcia's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Project Manager a Fundación Cerros Isla
  • MSc in Engineering and Civil Engineer.
  • From Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan, Chile
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm Chilean. I love exploring remote places, practicing sports (climbing, mountaineering, swimming, running, skiing), cooking, reading, traveling. I have a border collie called "Pionero". I've worked for 4 years in wildlife conservation as a project manager (@cerrosisla), I also design some freelance hydraulic engineering solutions and I've recently joined as part time business developer in Chilean company that uses data analysis to improve decision making and natural resources exploration projects.

I've just finished my Master's Degree and I've decided to travel the world while working remotely keeping my current jobs. I'm interested in relaxing, meeting beautiful people, exploring remote places, learning some history, admiring good art, connecting with science, visiting conservation projects, practicing climbing, surfing, cooking, learning about ancient architecture, local literature, drinking some wine, listening to good live music etc.

My Master's Thesis research was about proposing a conservation planning model for urban wetlands in developing countries.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Want share experiences, places and projects with other warm hearted people from Europe, Africa and the Middle East. And I'd be happy to receive people back in Vichuquén, my hometown. A little town close to beach and sorrounded by mountains, a lake wetlands and forests.

Interests

Music, Skiing, Climbing, Mountaneering, Books, Movies, Yoga, Stoic and inidian philosophy, Scouts, Cooking,

  • writing
  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • skiing
  • scout

Music, Movies, and Books

Music; PJ Morton, Perota Chingó, Newen Afrobeat, Foo Fighters.

Movies: Fitzcarralado, Cinema Paradiso, Jackie Brown, Reservoir Dogs, Stalker, City of God, Seven, Seven Pounds, Snatch, Inglorious Basterds, Moonrise Kingdom, Grand Hotel Budapest

Books; Odisea - Homero, Libro de las Preguntas - Pablo Neruda, Carta sobre el humanismo - Heidegger, El Quijote de la Mancha - Cervantes, Confieso que he vivido - Pablo Neruda

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Camping for 10 days in Torres del Paine, Chile.
- Going down a river for over for 4 hours in the jungle in Ecuador.
- Crossing the Mauritanian Sahara Desert over the mineral of an iron train.
- Hitchiking through Morocco.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love cooking, having good truthful conversations, going outdoors, practicing sports.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Laugh, warm conversation, cooking, a glass of wine, good morning tea, music, work environment,

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Ecuador, Greece, Italy, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Peru, Senegal, Spain, Turkey, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.

My Groups