Benjamin Lee

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Making things better.
  • Bach. Computer Science, Monash University, Melbourne, AU....
  • From Melbourne, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To persuade people to smile - and enjoy myself in doing so; to be generous yet discerning; to experience life through the eyes of others; to be a paramedic; to be a fire fighter;and to see Open Source software bring information freedom to the world.


I am obsessed with laughing. Period. And I can laugh at almost anything (more often than not, myself)!

Hot showers rock!

The smell of clean clothes and bed sheets just do it for me.

I like horses but not horse hair when found without the horse.

I adore food and wine. I will eat almost anything once.

Sweating without exercising is uncomfortable.

Mosquitoes are annoying.


How fast are you able laugh? How fast?!


Travel (of course)
Dancing (from jive to capoeira)
Languages and Word Etymology
Singing (badly)
Communications (languages, syntax, history, technology)
Medicine, Pharmacology, Chemistry and Biology

Music, Movies, and Books

Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling (in Spanish)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelling is always memorable... maybe not necessarily incredible...

I have travelled by train, plane, bus, car, metro, jeep, ferry, boat,
canoe, launch, motorcycle, bicycle, horse, foot, 4x4; seen hundreds of
beautiful sunsets; been down mines, up mountains and volcanoes; studied
French, read all the Harry Potter books; fished for piranas, bathed in
thermal baths, rafted down white water, been in prison (read: toured),
suffered from altitude sickness; been bitten by countless mosquitoes,
flies, bugs; seen pink dolphins, giant anteaters, big snakes, small snakes,
spiders, tucans, macaws, capybaras, cayman, llamas; visited waterfalls,
glaciers, salt flats, deserts, jungles, white beaches, black beaches,
wetlands, metropolises, towns; been hot, sweaty, cold, freezing; eaten
worms, guinea pigs; drunk a mind boggling variety of fermented beverages,
danced heaps; and... I have met amazing, kind, generous people!

He viajado en tren, avión, bus, coche, metro, jeep, balsa, barco, canoa,
lancha, motocicleta, bicicleta, caballo, a pie, 4x4; he visto cientos
puestas del sol muy bonitos; he bajado en minas, subido montañas y volcanes; he
estudiado francés, leído todos los libros de Harry Potter; he pescado para
pirañas, me he bañado en aguas termales, he hecho paseos en balsa por ríos
rápidos, he estado en una cárcel (leed: recorrido), sufrido de mal de altura;
me han picado un incontable montón de mosquitos, moscas, bichos; he visto
delfines rosados, oso hormigueros gigantes, serpientes grandes, serpientes
pequeños, arañas, tucanos, papagayos, capibaras, caimanes, llamas; he visitado
cascadas, glaciares, salares, desiertos, selvas, playas blancas, playas negras,
pantanos, metrópolis, pueblos; he tenido calor, estado sudado, tenido frió,
estado congelado; he comido gusanos, cuys; he bebido una variedad de bebidas
fermentadas, bailado un montón; y... he conocido a gente tan asombrosa,
amable y generosa!

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Colombia, Spain, Tanzania

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    14 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups