Logo orange

Ben Samuels

New Orleans, LA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 77 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Freelance film work.
  • BA in Film Arts!
  • From Baton Rouge, LA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get settled, then leave.

ABOUT ME

~*~*~ A Note to those thinking of sending a request! ~*~*~

Please don't send a request for more than a week before your arrival. Super late notice is fine, if not better. because my schedule is incredibly random and I don't want to agree to something I know I can't back up.

If you send me a request that could be copied and pasted to any other request and mean the same thing I'm way less likely to say yes.

I know very well from my own experience how difficult it can be to write something unique for every message. Especially while travelling. But CS'ing is supposed to be an exchange not just a free place to stay.

Let me know why you'd like to stay with me! I'll try and give you enough info so you can find something to say :)

~*~*~*~ ~*~*~*~

Now on that part...

I'm a recent graduate of the University of New Orleans and now I'm a full time filmmaker! Freelance is not an easy route, but I'm giving it a chance and being my own boss.

I'm also always looking for creative collaborations! If you want to make a up a mini project with me I've likely got what we'll need. Short video? Animation? Doing some photography? Drawing? Let me know!

Partying is not a great skill of mine. At the same time New Orleans is a great party city and I won't hold you back from going out and having a wild time! I love going out, but not to get drunk as possible. Concerts and events are what I'm into. Luckily there's always a ton of shows and things going on here. For me a nice night could simply be watching a movie (I've got a great set up), jamming records and talking music or playing board games.

With couchsurfing I've been able to see the world. It's difficult for me to be stationary, but luckily I'm in the best city in the whole world. And this also gives me the opportunity to give back!

I lived in Germany for 6 months as part of an exchange and then I spent another 5 months travelling nonstop through most of Europe. It was one of the most incredible experiences of my life. Now I'm setting my eyes of the next big adventure (South America!) and of course visiting Europe again.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't forget how big the world is... Treat others how you want to be treated! Pretty simple things :D

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I'm travelling I try to only use couchsurfing and I'll also go to events in the cities I'm in.

Here at home I like to host when I can. I'd also realllllllllly like to start a cooksurfing group here, but my schedule keeps making that tricky. If you'd like to volunteer yourself to be my first cooksurfing guest you'd be my hero!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've had couch surfers from Canada, Japan, Denmark, Poland, Germany, Belgium, Washington, New York, and California. All have been amazing people with great stories and passion for adventure.

I surfed all across Europe (over 15 countries) and I've surfed in Texas and Toronto. The generosity of the hosts I've had has been a lasting inspiration. I hope I'm able to give back the way they gave to me.

Interests

Cooking: I love fix'n Southern food, Indian food, german food, mexican food, japanese food, bread, ice cream and any other kind of dessert. Or really anything! I like new challenges in the kitchen. Recently I've been making a lot of my own pasta from scratch!

Other things I'm intereasted in: Brewing beer. You brew, dude?

Camping. I was a Boy Scout and I love being in the outdoors.

Graphic novels. Recommend me something good! My recent favorite is Transmetropoliton!

Some videogaming. I've got a Wii but it hasn't been turned on in a long time.

Concert-going. There are multiple shows EVERY night here. I can point you in the right direction if I can't go out.

Music, Movies & Books

Talking music and bands is a ton of fun! I'm really into post punk, experimental, jazz, hip hop, sludge metal, punk, reggae, and much much more. You should show me your favorite bands! I love talking about music with people. Here are some random bands: The Ex, Buke & Gase, TV on the Radio, Floor, The Books, My Bloody Valentine, Andrew Bird, Wu-tang Clan and more and more. You can check out just about all I listen to here: http://www.last.fm/user/benjamuels

Movies are AWESOME. Here is a list of some I like: The Pillow Book, Persona, Naked Lunch, The Big Lebowski, Star Wars, Troll 2, Finding Nemo, Cabin in the Woods, 8 1/2, Rules of the Game, and Rear Window. I really enjoy good-bad/cult classic movies. You should also share your favorite movies with me!

I don't read as much as I would like to. Somehow that's always put on the back burner. But most of my favorite books are in the southern gothic genre. As I Lay Dying, Grapes of Wrath and Of Mice and Men. Graphic novels are more my fancy. Superman: Red Son, Safe Area Gorazde, The Rabbi's Cat and The Dark Knight Returns.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My exchange semester and time travelling in Europe so far made for the best year of my life. I'm looking forward to trying to beat that now!

I filmed a music festival in Utrecht, Netherlands.

I spent a week canoeing through the lakes of Canada.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've got a fun variety of instruments that I can't play very well but enjoy fiddling with. Maybe we could jam?

I could teach you some beer brewing basics?

I love cook exchanges! Let's share different dishes.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Netherlands, Norway, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile