Logo orange

Ben O'Hallaron

Honolulu, HI, USA

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Horticulturist, former English teacher
  • Associate's Degree in Horticulture
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

The 2010s have been a rollercoaster! From traveling the southern US with my dog, WWOOFing throughout Florida and in Arizona as well, I found myself living in beautiful New York City for a year or so before somehow winding up spending 2 years in Medellín, Colombia, after a bit of travel through Central America. In Colombia I taught myself to teach English, and to speak Spanish. I also learned a lot about life...maybe more than I wanted to. Like most CSers, I want life to be an adventure and I always want to see more.

While I won't stop looking for adventure, I am ready to put down some roots. New York and Medellín were potential long-term homes, but life is full of surprises and I go with the flow! After a few-month stint with family in Dallas, I returned to St. Louis this spring (2014) where I have been working, saving for a new life, being near friends, playing music, and preparing for the next chapter of my life.

The next chapter is Hawaii. It's been on my mind for years; life just didn't take me there until now. What am I after? A positive environment. And in 2016 I would love to return to school to study botany at UH Manoa which I'm pretty excited about.

I'm hoping and planning to make this one stick! Starting a new life every year or two can get exhausting. And I'm ready for a home.

Did I say I? I meant we! My sidekick is a universally beloved 10 year old dog named Haystack. She loves you, she loves your dog, and you'll love her.

=======================================================

What else would you like to know about me?

I have been vegetarian for most of my life, vegan for 4 or 5 years, it rocks, and I'm open-minded so don't you worry, meat-eaters. It doesn't come up in conversation.

I have a real, actual degree in horticulture and have put it to use working at the Missouri Botanical Garden and in private homes.

I play upright and electric bass, and love to play around on the ukulele. I've spent a lot of time on stage and I wouldn't mind spending more!

My philosophy: don't take yourself too seriously. I am a nice, flexible, yet assertive person (honest to a fault at times), and this is the most important life lesson I have learned....hakuna matata. Keep things in perspective! :) As far as we know, we only get one life so I'd like not to spend it seeing the worst in every situation.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I'm on CS because it's the best way to travel. I love getting perspectives from people on their homes and on life, everyone's is different. Put them together and you can get a pretty good picture of a place. And I am happy to help others with the same!

Interests

adventure, outside, the moon, dogs, motorcycles, music, jetpacks, space, rivers, the ocean, smiling, urban exploring, people who smile

Music, Movies & Books

Music; well that's a moving target. Lately I have been listening to a lot of bossa nova. I like a lot of music.

My most favorite movies, in no particular order: Metropolis, MirrorMask, and most recently, 3 Idiots (it's not what it sounds like).

I'm pretty bad at sitting and reading. When I do I like to read nonfiction. Maybe that will change? Maybe not.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I watched the last 2 space shuttle launches. I learned how to sail a few years ago. Ooh, I went paragliding too.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know some about trees, plants, things that grow. I like playing music and hearing stories and going to see live music.

I can make roasted potatoes, and chili, and plantains several ways, and other stuff too.

I can teach you chords on the ukulele, or how to play bass, or Spanish, or English.

Bring pictures!

What I Can Share With Hosts

I can share stories, help cook, and all of the stuff I wrote above.

Countries I've Visited

Colombia, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Spain, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Colombia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile