Viviana Bernal

West New York, New Jersey, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Viviana’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Program Assistant of Women's & Gender Studies at Montclai...
  • I have a Bachelor's in Women's Studies
  • From I mostly grew up in North Bergen, NJ
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


I'd like to learn, grow, laugh, and connect with new wonderful people. A pretty basic mission!


I'm 27 years old and I've lived in Northern NJ pretty much my whole life. My parents are from Latin-America and as I get older I continue to become more and more connected to my Colombian/Salvadoran heritage. I am inspired by great art. New knowledge excites me. And I love exposing myself to new ways of living and being from new people and new experiences. I've also loved the traveling experiences I've had and hope to continue on many more life-enriching, life-affirming travels! Hope that tells you a little bit about me!! :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'd like to participate as a couch surfer, meet really great interesting people and have awesome exchanges. Great traveling experiences, I notice, are made when you get to see the other side of a location not often shown to tourists. Seeing the best of a city or town usually comes from getting to see it through the eyes of those who love living there. And if I had my own place, and didn't live with my parents in a tiny apartment, I'd definitely open it up to couch surfers! :)


I'm interested in learning skills that will allow me to live a more sustainable life. I'd like to learn how to sew, alter clothes; garden, grow my own vegetables; learn creative ways to repurpose old materials; learn how to fix things instead of throwing them away. I want to spend more time making art, connecting with myself and with others.
I'm interested in clarifying my own vision for a world of Peace, where all beings and Mother Earth are honored. I'm interested in working collaboratively with others to clarify our collective vision and for bringing that vision into reality.
I'm also interested in meeting people who create their lives out of their own unique vision for themselves and aren't concerned with trying to fit into a box.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Mostly anything! I love Louie Armstrong, Sarah Vaughan, Billy Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald. I like Jill Scott, Feist, Lily Allen, Corrine Bailey Rae, Jack Johnson, Ingrid Michaelsen, Ray LaMontagne, etc.
Movies: Some of my favorites include: In America, Waitress, Juno, Little Manhattan, Last Chance Harvey, Garden State, Maria Full of Grace.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love the idea that we all have something to share, to teach and that we all have something to learn. I'm interested in exploring this new educational model. To teach, I have a background in Women's & Gender Studies and can offer interesting discussions on the connections between most issues and gender/sexuality. Lately, I've been into the philosophy of Yoga, New Age spirituality, and some Buddhist principles, so I can offer some discussion on these subjects. I'm also a great listener and love asking people questions that have them reflect on their own thoughts, and knowledge, often guiding them to new insights.

Countries I’ve Visited

Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Viviana’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups