Logo orange

Beth Lanis

Avignon, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, France

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Beth's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 22 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Professional laughist
  • BA in Psych
  • From Hudson, WI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To improve my FRENCH!

ABOUT ME

Well let's see here. I'm kind of silly but shh don't tell anyone! I love learning languages, traveling, laughing, meeting new people, eating good food, yoga, walking, learning new things, did I already say laughing? Ya, because I really enjoy laughing. I am currently devising a way to destroy McDonald's, Wal-Mart, and Mon Santo.

PHILOSOPHY

Authenticity and being able to laugh at oneself are 2 of the most important qualities in a person.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people from different culture, sharing our ideas, laughing over a glass (or 2 or 5) of wine, doing language exchanges, and enjoying others' company.

In Aix-en-Provence I did a lot of meet up groups on Wednesday nights and I met my husband there! So I owe couchsurfing a WHOLE lot. I love this organization.

Interests

Languages, laughing, traveling, music music music (lately especially bossa nova, other PMB, and blues), dancing, beer and wine, cheese! (but I'm still learning about that stuff), psychology, human rights and other social issues, meditation, badminton, making friends, anthropology. Newest interests that I am currently learning or want to learn about: bonsai trees, silver smelting to make jewelry, gardening, and natural lifestyle (food, beauty products, etc.).

Music, Movies & Books

Music: I truly like everything. Some of my favorites are: The Beatles, M83, Starfucker, Beach House, Pink Floyd, Manu Chau, The XX, Zombies, Ray Lynch, RJD2, Sunlounger, TV on the Radio, UB40, Rolling Stones, Lauryn Hill, Hot Chip, The Knife, Mum, Roy Orbison, Lily Allen, Midnight Movies, The Strokes, Paul Simon, Spoon, Radiohead, Rusko, Ratatat, Crystal Castles,Mumford and Sons, Avett Brothers, The National, Broken Bells, My Morning Jacket, Nirvana, Tiesto, David Guetta, Deadmau5, Empire of the Sun, Grupo 5, Chambao, Gayngs, Girl Talk, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Air, Arcade Fire, Blue Foundation, Brian Jonestown Massacre, Vetiver, Journey, Kleerup, anything from South America, especially cumbia and bachata.
My favorite books are: The Historian (by Elizabeth Kostova), The Kite Runner (by Khaled Hosseini), Abnormal Psychology (multiple authors), The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (by Adams and Colfer), I Know This Much is True (by Wally Lamb), of course Harry Potter, and The Unbearable Lightness of Being (by Milan Kundera). There are a few more but they escape me at the moment.
Movies: Amores Perros, American Beauty, Everything Is Illuminated, In Time, 50 First Dates, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

One Amazing Thing I've Done

When I was in Guayaquil, Ecuador, I needed to get a taxi, but it's very dangerous there. So I asked a Peruvian couple if they could help me call a taxi. They found a taxi with me, and actually TOOK me to my hotel. Then they paid for the taxi! They were amazing. I want to pass that on and be kind to travelers. It makes your experience so much more stress free and enjoyable.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know Portuguese, Spanish, French, and of course English, and am learning Italian. My newest endeavor: German! I teach English so I can help you if you so desire :) I also make jewelry, knit, crochet and play the piano.

I would very much like to improve my French and Italian. Please help me! :)

Countries I've Visited

Czech Republic, Ecuador, Italy, Netherlands, Panama, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Costa Rica, Croatia, France, Peru, Poland, Portugal, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Beth's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile