Logo orange

Ben Fisher

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

swim with a whale

ABOUT ME

I love meeting new people and trying new things. At the moment, I'm more taken by the outdoors, the snow and adventure. I enjoy speaking other languages. Parlez-vous francais?

I love a lot of things and want to try whatever you're into! I'm active, outgoing and can enjoy mornings, although I have become a bit more of a night owl of late. I also like to (and need to) relax, especially as life back home can get so busy. I understand others frequently don't like mornings. Going out is always great - a little adventure, the local pub, city nightlife, a quiet dinner in...

Good company and a good beverage (perhaps a good meal) are an excellent combination. Give me a kitchen and I'll give you a meal - and do the washing up!
I consider myself an open-minded and flexible person; I want to hear about what you're into. If you've got an opinion, no matter who you are, I want to understand it. I'm very honest.

I usually don't eat meat or fish (ie vegetarian) but I won't inconvenience you.

PHILOSOPHY

It's not what you do, but how you do it.

Theories.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed before and now that I've moved out and settled into a house my house mates and I would like to host. I love being a tour guide and having people stay.

Let me know if you're in the neighbourhood and if I can't host, maybe we could go skiing or have a chat.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

There is no better way to travel than to visit someone happy to have you!

We've hosted a bunch of people lately, exchange students and friends of friends. It's always a pleasure showing them around when I can.

Interests

Skiing and snowy mountains - I'm nuts about it and want to spend more time there
Music: playing, watching, listening, dancing, talking about it
Food, cooking and local fare; I love entertaining, learning, relaxing in the kitchen and the experience of creating something perishable but enjoyable! I volunteer at a food co-operative to encourage ethical sourcing.
History: why is the world how it is? How did we get to where we are today? The past explains a lot.
People, law, criminals, why people do what they do.
Sustainable development, architecture, cultures, people and a lot of other stuff; movies!

Music, Movies & Books

Movies:
Collateral, Across the Universe, Star Wars, The Thomas Crown Affair (1999), Gran Torino, Austin Powers I and II, the Hannibal series, so many I can't think of right now and I have a long list to see.

Music:
Led Zeppelin, Silverchair, Incubus, Debussy's Clair de Lune, Muse, The Beatles, Jamiroquai, John Coltrane, Dave Holland Quintet, Charlie Parker, Michael Jackson, Chick Corea, Chopin, Beethoven, more...

Books:
HARRY POTTER, Lord of the Rings, Pride and Prejudice, Catcher in the Rye...
100 Mile Diet: A Year of Local Eating

One Amazing Thing I've Done

So many. Mountain summits peircing above clouds, then the top of Mont Blanc and the Alps in full sunlight as the clouds cleared. At the end of the day, taking the chairlift to the top of the glacier to see the mountains change colours as the sun sets behind the peaks.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love helping people and I'd love to teach you something! What do you want to know? I'll try and help

Things I think I know about and like sharing:
music - jazz, a bit of its history and how it works. I can teach you how to play your favourite Beatles song
About where I'm from, or where I've been, or what I study; ENGLISH; how to cook.

I'm sure just by staying with you I will learn something - the experience is everything.

Countries I've Visited

Cambodia, Costa Rica, Fiji, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile