Ethel MacDonald's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ethel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 16 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 80, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Retired French & English teacher
  • M.A.s in French and English
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Travel, live peacefully, promote peace


Retired 79 yr-old teacher, leaving Sept. For a Paris-Milan bike trip. Have biked about fifteen solo trips in France, Belgium, Luxembourg, Holland, Germany, Sweden, Portugal and Spain since 2003, and also Adventure Cycling Pacific Coast and parts of the Southern Tier and Atlantic Coast Routes. Have hosted over 150 guests mainly through a cycling hosts group but two dozen or so with Couchsurfing.


I try to live by Gandhi's "Be the change you wish to see in the world" and live a peaceful existence with respect for the environment, which means minimal consumption.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I mainly host through, which is strictly for bicyclists, but discovered CS in France when a host recommended it; used it just a few times and have hosted just a few with CS. I'm partial to cyclists or foreign visitors, especially francophones.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE Nearly all experiences, whether as host or guest, have been positive.

All experiences, whether hosting or being the guest, have been good.


Peace & justice, biking, environment, African drumming, running, hiking, theatre, music, art, different cultures, and of course, travel, mainly by bike as long as I can do it.

  • arts
  • culture
  • environment
  • marathon
  • running
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • teaching
  • tours

Music, Movies, and Books

Music generally classic or 50s & 60s old favorites. Books again the classics but also Barbara Kingsolver, Doris Lessing, Toni Morrison, Isabel Allende, Montana authors. Seldom go to movies & can't think of any titles at the moment.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ran my first marathon at the age of 60. Qualified for, and finished the 2000 Boston marathon even though a January pulled hamstring (skiing fall) meant limited running, max 10K distance from February to the April marathon. Solo biking tours.

Teach, Learn, Share

Bike experiences, running, culture, French, African drumming.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Love of my town of Missoula, bike experiences & whatever people want to ask me about travels, my home state of Montana, etc.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Côte d'Ivoire, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guadeloupe, Italy, Luxembourg, Mali, Martinique, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Togo, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Benin, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Ethel’s full profile. It’s free!