Jess Yau

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jess’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Working on community food projects for a municipality
  • Everyday
  • From Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I love going on adventures, whether they are big or small. I enjoy the genuine interactions between strangers or good friends.

I've been biking to work lately so that's what's mostly been keeping me happy all summer. Going on bike trips on the weekend is also great, I've been able to meet some new friends doing it!

Currently, I work for a city about 30 minutes north of Toronto. I work to advocate and help with the making of community food gardens. I'm passionate about my work and am happy doing what I do!


"The very basic core of a man'€™s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because it is truly the most genuine way to get to know a city, neighbourhood, and the people who live there. Traveling is not only about the sights, history, etc... it's human connection.

I've surfed and I've hosted, I can't wait to do more!


I enjoy being in nature and seeing mist rise from the lake on an early fall morning from the view of my tent but I also love immersing myself in books in a library and sneaking into lectures.

Live music, local beer (more please), minimalism, artistic talents, poetry slams, food issues, food-eating, book-hoarding, camping & portaging, documentaries, almond croissants, pastel de nata, vietnamese food.

I also love biking! - I bike to work and try to use it as my main mode of transportation.

I have a curiousness for all things in this world. I love hearing people talk about the things they love and are passionate about!

Music, Movies, and Books

movies/shows: I enjoy mostly all documentaries and non-docus, I just never remember the name: American Commune, The Power of Community, Motorcycle Diaries, Drive, almost all Anthony Bourdain, Human Planet

books: I am way better at collecting books than I am at reading them!

music: anything live. hip hop, jazz, electro-swing, folk, rock.. keep them coming!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Just one...?!?

Swimming in the Bay of Fundy (St. Andrews, New Brunswick) and getting that very salty and very cold water up my nose.

Every park in Canada I've hiked/ camped/ smelled/ seen.

Hiking the Swiss Alps with two amazing friends and touring 5 glacial lakes... drinking from the stream and hearing cowbells from a distance.

Falling into the Ottawa river during a rafting trip.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach you some basic cooking, talk about some of the issues surrounding food, we could book swap, and music swap and share a hummus recipe or two, I could teach you how to swim if you don't know how to, or some basic Cantonese.

Share with me something that you've experienced and absolutely loved. I love storytellers so share away! Cooking is always a great way to get to know somebody. My kitchen or yours?

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Dominican Republic, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Japan, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Jess’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups