Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login 2 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Birte Oksen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 66 References 40 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English, German; learning French, Norwegian Bokmål, Spanish, Swedish
  • 67, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Spend a lot of time outside, gardenwork,walking, biking, ...
  • I am educated as a social and healthassistent. Have been ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My mission is to enjoy life, and try to make the world a better place to stay.

ABOUT ME

I am an old happy, funny and friendly women, that is trying to get the best out of life. I'm not sure if there will be a life after death, - but everyone should most certainly work for it, as long as we are here on this nice planet!
After working in public healthservice for many years I'm now retired. I do very much like to travel and to meet new, interesting people - be wiser about different culture, and how people managed their lifes.
I have got 3 daugthers, who all have been travelling around the world, and brought some fine experiences back home. Now I would like to provide some good experiences to other yuongsters or elderly travelling people - and hopefully I'll get something positive myself.

PHILOSOPHY

"Carpe diem" - what does'nt kill you, makes you stronger! Some might think that it's a phrase.........it is NOT I've been there!
Don't take anything for granted - pay it forward.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

As host and surfer.
October 2012 we were some CS-friends planing a meeting at my place, for CS's from all over the world, to share our experiences AND the joy of cooking together. It was very succesful and I learnt about many exiting experiences that others have had with CS. AND got nice, new friends :0)
Update May 2015: a couple of those youngsters have now become my close friends, and we did travel together to Hungary and Romania and also to a CS event in the Netherlands.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Since I became a member in january 2012 I met some interesting people at a CS-meeting in Flensburg. After that I've got a really nice friendship with some youngsters in my city, - foreigners as well as danish - and it has been a great pleasure.
April 2012: I hosted Giang, a young vietnamese girl,as my first surfer, it was a very nice experienc
August 2012: hosted Bjorn and "Bear" from Germany and Israel. September 2012: Lehel Kovacs from Romania / Hungaria.
October 2012: Sofi and Niklas Rosenquist from Stockholm.
January/February 2013: surfed a couch with Hanne in Copenhagen, Diego in Managua and Maria in Matagalpa, Nicaragua. Very exiting!
August 2013:Hosted Chantal from Paris.
January 2014: hosted Kamila from Poland and Arif from India, they came to DK to get married :o)
February 2014: hosted Jay from Belfast, Ireland.
April 2014: hosted Mees fro Netherlands, and going on a trip to Budapest and Romania and hoping to find some nice hosts on my way! We're hosted twice, together with two friends, of Canadian Joe in his nice apartment I Budapest.
May 2014: Hosted Nikola a streetmusician from Macedonia.
June 2014: Hosted Vera from Germany, she went to a conference about human rights here in my town.
November 2014: Hosted Julia and Cordula from Germany, they went the "Gendarmen steig" afterwards.
November 2014: hosted a "Dinner and Storytelling" event with around 17 persons.
Dec. 2014: hosted Krista from Latvia.
Dec.2014/Jan -2015: hosted my friend Mary Julissa from Nicaragua and her friend Ian from Sweden. Very nice to meet Mary again here in my own country!
May 2015: Surfed with Barbara in Leipzig and at Jule's place in Dresden.
June 2015: Hosted 4 funny "girls" from Poland (it turned out that one was a man :o))
June 2015: Hosted Jerome from Alsace - a great biker and gentleman!
July /August 2015: 4 weeks trip to Canada. Hosted by Ziba in Toronto, Maria in Windsor and by Bob and Kristina in Vancouver. All great hosts :o))
November 2015: Hosted Zackary from Manchester / Australia.
December 2015: Hosted Dionne and Milou from Holland, great young guests!
January 2016: Hosted Ryota from Japan, - a bit shy but very friendly guy.
March 2016: Hosted Ambarish from India (Copenhagen) - nice and funny guy!
May 2016: Hosted Omid from Iran twice - very interesting man, who now has got a job on his Green Card.
July 2016: Hosted Greg, Ewa his wife and daughter Agatha for 2 nights. They were lucky I still had my caravan at that time!
August 2016: Hosted Lu and her friend Nah from Vietnam (Kiel). Cool bikers!!
August 2016: Hosted Elise from Bordeaux. Smart and funny girl.

Interests

I'm interested in other people all around the world, and how they managed there lives. I like walking, biking and swimming in the nature, and to share fun, laughter, conversations, and of course food and drinks.
I love dancing - especially the old, danish folk dances - but also more modern types. Gardening and flowers are my hobbies, and I like to visit ART- exhibitions and different kind of museums. I also like to spend time on my bike in the nature. Reading books are vital - allthough I also watch boring TV :o)

  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • dancing
  • human rights
  • dining
  • cooking
  • walking
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • flowers
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • swimming
  • nursing

Music, Movies, and Books

All the good, new danish movies. And some good foreign too, that does'nt have all that car hunting stuff!!! Many different kinds of music - but most of all folk, jazz and soft rock. Classical music for relaxing and meditation. Music choise depends very much on my mood.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I've seen and experienced was Doubtful Sound in Fiordland NZ. The most amazing thing I did was to walk the Camino in Spain. All alone and on my feet 800 km with a backpack.
January / February 2013 I went to Nicaragua on my own for 6 weeks - a trip that I'll never forget! Poor country but really, really nice people.
I've traveled Greenland in 3 weeks from the Ice Fiord north of the Polar Circle and all the way down to southern part where the wikings discovered this totally beautiful country!
Of course - given birth to my three daughters was exceptional - and to see them grow and create their own families makes me happy!! :o)

Teach, Learn, Share

I know a lot about nursing, hygenic, medicin, healthy food and rehabilitation - since I have been working at a hospital for more than 30 years! I'm interested in art, plants and flowers, nature all over. I love music, to sing, to dance and want to learn more.
If someone is able to teach me how to play guitar or block flute - I would love it!!

What I Can Share with Hosts

A smiling, helpful, friendly and polite attitude :o)
Lots of stories, lauhgter and fun.
Small gifts.... and maybe cook a nice meal for my host if they like.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Birte Oksen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups