Logo orange

Livvy Bain

Lake Forest, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Livvy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning Arabic, French, Sign Language - American
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Student
  • Ongoing
  • From Mission Viejo, California, United States
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Go places, meet people, learn what I can

ABOUT ME

I'm a full time student with occasional part-time jobs. For my undergraduate degree, I studied Anthropology and German. Now, I'm taking some general science courses and getting ready for grad school.

I love to draw and bring a sketchbook with me nearly everywhere. When I travel, I love to go to museums and see the works of the masters. I am so awed by what some of them can accomplish. Sometimes, I just stare at a painting trying to figure out what sorts of brushstrokes (or just brushes) the artist used to get a particular effect.

I am a nerd and a recreational medievalist. I love languages and trying to wrap my mind around new ones. I'm also a huge bookworm. I'm not straight. Politically, I'm left-leaning by American standards and fairly centrist by northern/western European ones.

PHILOSOPHY

Explore, share, learn as much as possible. Do right by others. I don't really have a catchy phrase to sum it up.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've never hosted so far (when I have had a couch available, I haven't gotten requests), but would like to. At the very least, I'm happy to show a surfer around my area, have a picnic or give some tips if my couch isn't available. I've surfed on several occasions.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far, I have surfed some. It has always been really great to meet hosts! I feel like I get a much better view of a city that way than just staying at a hostel. It's also great to stay up and talk philosophy, politics, or music and see how views differ between our homes.

Interests

Art and photography, languages, literature, travel and adventure, ukulele, and nature.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Blackbook, Destry Rides again, Der Blaue Engel (and anything else with Marlene Dietrich), Das Leben Der Anderen, But I'm a Cheerleader, Lola, La Vie en Rose, the original Star Wars trilogy, and anything off-beat

Music: Eclectic - I like individual musicians more than I like genres.

Books: Stephen King, Bill Bryson, Stephen Pinker, biographies, or (nearly) anything else... Currently reading: "Lea" by Pascal Mercier and "Lili Marleen: a song that moved the world."

One Amazing Thing I've Done

On the island of Inis Mór, there are steep, wave-sculpted cliffs facing the Atlantic Ocean. Little streams trickle up to the edge, but the strong winds blow the water back up into a sort of an inverted waterfall. I could have watched it for hours.

visited 16 states (7.11%)Create your own visited map of The World

Teach, Learn, Share

I can cook Lebanese food and I can sew/embroider a bit. I can also curse profusely in American Sign Language.I can draw pretty well and might draw something for you if you want.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Livvy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile