Linn  Enger's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Linn ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian Bokmål; learning Arabic, French, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Communications and International Relations
  • International Relations & Journalism
  • From Norway
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*** Sadly, it seems like couch-surfing is no longer the community it used to be. Please don't bother messaging me if you are here to pick up girls. I'm here for friendship. NOT DATING. ***

Hi there!

I recently moved to Santiago, Chile for work, and I'm eager to make friends and travel/trekking partners. I plan to discover as much as possible while I'm here in Santiago/Chile/South America and improve my Spanish.

I'm a nomad. Lived in seven countries, and I love to learn about the world, cultures, politics, and everything. I'm pretty easygoing and open-minded, and consider myself an extroverted introvert (or was it the other way around?). I enjoy hearing people's stories, talking about many topics, and learning and understanding something new. I love the feeling of "going somewhere," adventure and being in transit.

All those years abroad, moving has changed me in so many ways. I feel international, with many friends and homes in different parts of the world. If you ask me to cook something Norwegian, I dunno what to make. Homemade shakshouka and hummus are my signature dishes which have received compliments from both Israeli and Syrian friends.

I'm not a huge party person, but I do like to discover new bars, and if the music is good I might end up dancing till the morning. I love all kinds of dance: salsa, belly dance, Brazilian samba, burlesque... and I just joined a dance group here. All kinds of cultural and creative activities are up my alley really. Theater performances, dance performances, live music, cinema, stand-up comedy, etc. Also, I like DIY stuff and when I'm back in Norway with my sewing machine I love to sew my own clothes.

Nature and the outdoors are other passions (hiking, bushwalking. etc.). I like to be active and also do yoga. Cooking and trying out new recipes, restaurants, and coffee shops is also nice. Balance is key to a good life.

PHILOSOPHY:
"There is always an exit but not always an entrance". That's why I like to take any chance I get in this life. My second motto is "confront the fears and measure the risks". Often irrational fear keeps us back from what we truly wish to do. I believe in trusting your gut feeling, being street smart, and having a backup plan instead of sitting home, regretting the chances you never took (that wasn't so scary after all).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To connect with good people and be part of a community of open-minded, adventurous people around the world.
I have made so many inspiring, amazing friends through the CS network! So grateful for this community.

Interests

Languages – Become fluent in Spanish and learn Arabic and French.

Treasure hunting at flea markets and second hand-shops.

Taste new food! When I go abroad I like to visit the local supermarkets and buy stuff I have never seen, or even don't know what is. I don't eat meat though, so it has to be vegetarian.

Staying up late! Thats when I get creative! I like to write, often lose track of the hour when I start writing and listening to music in the evening. But I do like to get up reasonably early. Can't waste a nice day sleeping in!

Arabic music and culture: My friends say I have an Arabic soul. Just love the music and dances from this part of the world and enjoy learning about religion, history, and politics. I dream about living and travelling in the region at some point.

Culture shocks! They make life and traveling interesting. I think the reverse culture shock of going home is the most challenging one.

Documentary films: It's such an interesting medium for telling stories and communicating a message. I always learn something from them, and I especially like those films that cover topics or societies I know little about or haven't even heard of. Love film festivals!

  • arts
  • culture
  • photography
  • diy
  • dancing
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • red wine
  • beer
  • vegetarian
  • aviation
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • magic
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • hunting
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I love live music performances and concerts of all kinds. Indie, Jazz, Latin, Electronica, Pop, House, Reggae, Lounge, World... Different music for different occasions, you will find it all in my playlists together with a brunch of Arabic Pop, but you will not find Hard-rock and Metal.

Norway has some pretty cool bands and artists too, check out "The Whitest Boy Alive", and "Kings of Convenience". Beady Belle, Jonas Alaska and Maria Mena are also worth a listen.

Enjoy reading too. Mostly popular science and novels that makes me smile (Dolly Alderton, Marianne Power) or take me into different countries and cultures.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2020 I did a 10-day silent vipassana meditation course.

In 2014, I visited a friend in Fiji which I have known for 10 years but never met in person! As a 15 year-old I did a random Skype call to the most remote online person I could find to practice English and ask about how it was to live on a Pacific island. Since then we have been pen pals, WhatsApp pals, and Skype buddies, sharing our culture and stories from everyday life. Friendship can be found in the most random places, and I hope I can visit again someday!

Teach, Learn, Share

Good conversations, good food and company. Maybe a hike or weekend-travel adventure too?
Can also share my friends. What I love the most about this international life is how international friends tend to connect other friends with friends of friends when someone is moving/travelling to a new place.

What I Can Share with Hosts

– Experiences and perspectives, ideas and conversations.
– A meal or several.
– Laughter and travel stories

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Iceland, India, Italy, Laos, Latvia, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Togo, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Chile, Denmark, Ghana, Norway, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Linn ’s full profile.

My Groups