Sally Qi

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sally ’s full profile. It’s free!


  • various freelancing.
  • history and russian language and literature
  • From shanghai/vancouver
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


to figure out what's for dinner


i'm generally easy going and pleasant. although i'm known to be awkward... but nothing a few beverages can't solve.


1. improve improve improve
2. the more dogs the better
3. don't eat it if it doesn't taste good

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


we host, attend events, try to organise the occasional meet-up, and strive to be as helpful as possible to visitors of shanghai


i've had a bunch of pleasant couchsurfing experiences. although, i think the best of all is that my friend kim is now in a serious relationship with a couchsurfer i met and befriended 4 years ago in st petersburg.


i like russian poetry, literature, and linguistics. i also enjoy all sorts of doodling, photography, hiking, eating, painting, reading, and puppies. all kinds of puppies. really. every puppy. and by puppy i mean all dogs. i really like dogs. although i also enjoy kittens. and moo-cows. and baa-goats. and donkeys are pretty cool too. ok so really all animals. oh. and i like crossfit. a lot.

my favourite smells include: recently purchased books, pencil shavings, matches and turpentine. my favourite passtimes include: sitting on the curb (eating chinese bbq and drinking beer, perhaps?), watching long obscure movies, trying food, playing with puppies, making sweat angels on gym floors, cooking, and napping.

Music, Movies, and Books

pushkin, lermontov, shalamov, dostoevsky, platonov, babel, pope, wilde, keats, byron, salinger, fitzgerald, EROFEEV....

music: i've recently stopped listening to music and now only listen to podcasts. although, currently i'm in yunnan on the tibetan plateau, and i must admit. the music here is pretty rad.

movies: tarkovsky, cameron, sukorov, wong kar wai, gus van sant, busby berkely, soderbergh, and others.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

24 hours of light in the arctic circle. the tundra. and tiger leaping gorge.

Teach, Learn, Share

i can attempt to teach you how to cook. although, i hear i'm way too controlling in the kitchen. otherwise, perhaps i can teach russian, or chinese, or drawing, i don't know. i can teach you excellent dog management skills.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Lebanon, Lithuania, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Syrian Arab Republic, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, China, Russian Federation

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Sally ’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups