Blake and Em Reid

Te Anau, Southland, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Blake and Em’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Italian, Spanish
  • 32, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • English teacher / mad outdoor guide
  • Degrees / CELTA / diplomas
  • From Nelson, New Zealand and Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


An adventure and a half!!!!



We are an adventurous and enthusiastic young couple who feel the true way to make our travelling dreams come true is by living and experiencing it with the 'locals’!

Sharing the same big passion of exploring the world we found each other 3 years ago in the middle of the moutains, in a beautiful litte place called Milford Sound and have been living our dreams together ever since.

We have spent the last 3 years living and working around the world and spending time with both our families in New Zealand and England.

We have also been planning a mad adventure (that we are about to start) around South America on a motorbike. Why? Why not.

A bit more about us...

Blake: I am an outdoors man through and through. My diploma is in outdoor recreation and adult education. I am a grade 5 white water kayaker, a keen rock climber and a sucker for any sort of adventure activity. I have spent my whole life in the outdoors whether it be for work or fun! I am also a qualified skipper. My best experience was a job as a whale watching guide in Tonga. Awesome. I am also a qualified English teacher and a general can-do man!

Emma: I am a bubby, out-going friendly person who loves life and all the challenges it brings. My education is a BA honours degree in languages, allowing me to live and study in various countries. I am fluent in French and Italian, speak basic German and am about to take on Spanish as we mission to South America. I am a qualified English teacher, graded in the top 2% in the world. My best experience was teaching English in a tiny village in Cambodia, at one point I had all 81 students aged 3-70 years old doing the hokey kokey!

Basically we are a very happy, kind and enthusiastic couple who would really appreciate anyone who can help us along our trip and make it better and we are excited to return the favour at one of our homes on either side of the world!


Pay it forward

Live the adventure

Why I’m on Couchsurfing



Well as I mentioned, I'm from Sheffield, UK and Blake is from Nelson, NZ and we both have our home in Milford Sound, New Zealand. We can offer tent pitches, sofas or car/van parking.

As we are both pretty well travelled we have contacts in a lot of places around the world and are more than happy to put you in touch with someone we know or offer any advice about that place!

Hope this will help!


First timers...I (Emma) set up an account years ago but forgot about it, recently a friend was telling us she has had amazing experiences over the last few years with it, especially in South America so we thought we'd have a go!


good books

Music, Movies, and Books

Love all music (except RnB)
Like a good movie but not mad TV people
Love a good book - mainly non-fiction

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

2 black stilts mating...

a rare bird of which there were only 54 pairs in the world was raised to 55 when me and a friend whilst on a conservation trip witnessed them mating.

The mating itself was pretty amazing as they pecked beaks before circling each other, then stopped, pecked beaks and did the same again, they circled in the opposite direction and repeated this action about 10 times before mating, cleaning each other and off they went...
....and then there was 55!!!

Teach, Learn, Share

This is a hard question

Dreams don't have to be dreams
Languages - English, French, Italian
Environmental education
Fire POI

Want to learn everything....but would really love to learn to rock'n'roll dancing and sign language!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Norway, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Tonga, Tunisia, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Blake and Em’s full profile. It’s free!