Shawn Prest's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shawn’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 35 References 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning French, German
  • 37, Other
  • Member since 2006
  • learner/teacher/do-er not necessarily in that order
  • propelled by my own curiousity
  • From Dundas, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

band/masters/work

ABOUT ME

I like creating things, sharing, learning, teaching and exploring life. I try to blaze my own trail when I can, that leads me down all sorts of crazy paths.

Me gusta crear cosas, compartir, aprender y explorar la vida.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I mostly just tell everyone I meet about couchsurfing and of course couchsurf and host... I like helping make the world seem smaller and more cozy.

J'explique à tout le monde à propos de couchsurfing et bien sûr je couchsurfe et j'héberge aussi. J'aime bien aider faire le monde un peu plus petit.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfed throughout Romania, Bulgaria, Turkey, France, Wallonia and Spain.

Hosting in Granada.

Interests

Interesting conversation, playing music, activism, travelling, hitchhiking, languages, reading, loving, drinking, dancing, sharing, psychology, politics, eating, camping, climbing stuff

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't really want to fill out this section because I think our world really focuses too much on passive entertainment... in my opinion people shouldn't define themselves so much by passive input. Books, particularly non-fiction ones that change the way you think about life are cool though.

I also make music, you can find out about that by clicking on the following:

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The road trip I took with two friends to Acapulco, Mexico from Toronto, Canada. My car didn't make it back... there's lots more but better shared in person!

I stayed in an isolated village in Turkey for 3 days communicating with a boatload of people with only a dictionary and flailing hand movements to help me... we got fresh cheese and cream daily from their pet inek (cow). In fact, that was some of the most kicking non-official couchsurfing I've done. I think we were the first foreigners to appear in their village ever, or at least close to ever...

Teach, Learn, Share

I suppose I can teach some guitar or radical politics to anyone who's interested. I can kinda cook, not fantastically, but enough that usually I can make something that tastes pretty good... I'm not so good at following recipes though, more of a `freestyle` kinda person. If you haven't hitchhiked before, but would like to I can give you lots of useful suggestions. I've been financing myself through teaching english for the majority of the last 4 years, so I suppose I could help that too. I can teach some basic french and spanish... although I don't speak perfectly in these two languages I can express myself on the vast majority of topics in both.

I really would like to learn how to rock climb although I don't have equipment... draw better with oil pastels, learn about small scale permaculture techniques. I would also like to learn more about biology and how different creatures work and/or interact. My academicish passion is social power dynamics... someday I will study this more in school again.

Sharing music making is one of my favourite things to do in life... I'm happy to participate in any kind of musical merriment in anyway I can. Sharing conversations about the world around us is also something I'm definitely interested in... for some reason, I'm always trying to understand it better. I also have increasingly developed a love for percussion sessions where people just grab any old household object in sight and start doing stuff... Eva is awesome at this... seek her out from my friend list!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, South Korea, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Shawn’s full profile. It’s free!