Logo orange

Daniel Norris

Aomori, Aomori, Japan

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • English Language Teacher
  • B.F.A. (Communication Design) and M....
  • From Chicago, IL, USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore, Learn, Laugh

ABOUT ME

"Life is a journey, not a destination," said Ralph Waldo Emerson. When I was younger I never had the opportunity to travel very much; I was working and going to school all the time. But I've always wanted to see the world with my own eyes and I know how important it is for people.

Thankfully, I was able to get a job teaching English in Japan, where I am currently living. But I hope to travel more. I'd love to experience as many interesting places as possible and meet new people with different cultures and backgrounds.

PHILOSOPHY

"How you live each day, is of course, how you live your life."

What you do each and every day is what makes you who you are.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting and Surfing :-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Since joining in late 2012, I have had some great couchsurfing experiences. I've hosted and meet a few travelers coming to my town. And one time, I have surfed while traveling and had a great time!

Unfortunately I've also learned that many couchsurfers are inactive or never reply to requests. So when couchsurfing works as it's supposed to, I really enjoy it and it's a good chance to meet lots of interesting people from different backgrounds. I just wish it was easier for me to find hosts!

Interests

Simply, I love:

Salsa/Latin dancing, photography, weight lifting, exercise, nearly all sports, hiking, traveling, outdoor activities, snowboarding, house music, mountain biking, sci-fi/thriller movies, space & planetary science, meeting people, stargazing, dance clubs (periodically), graphic design, animals, teaching children (my current job), trying to encourage children to believe in themselves.

Music, Movies & Books

I love house music, but I also like and/or appreciate almost all other genres. It's basically the same with movies, where sci-fi/thriller/adventure movies are my favorite but I enjoy everything else too. As for books, I wish I had a chance to read more. Let's just say, a good e-reader is on my "to-buy" list (and admittedly has been for awhile).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Ordering a Subway turkey breast sandwich with double meat!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Japan, Philippines, South Korea, Taiwan, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile