Logo orange

Nikolay Bonapartov

Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg, Russia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nikolay's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • I stopped working in shipping indust...
  • I'm only starting to learn what this...
  • From South of Russia+Saint Petersburg
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Well...I'm pretty shy and humble (it's not very humble to think so about self but what can I do..:)guy but I get along with people well. I don't talk too much but I also not one of those who don't say a word. I don't bear boasting and lies in any form. I do not have (okay, try not to) any stereotypes towards people of any nations, religions, colors, etc. I don't judge anyone by where they from and what language they talk. I enjoy discovering new cultures, countries and places. I do like people in general and I truly believe all people are good. There is also one thing I believe the most. It's love=)
Over two years ago I met a truly magnificient person who you can see on my main photo. She became a part of me so when I say "I" I always mean "we" :)

PHILOSOPHY

One Love.

Give before you take.

Keep the world clean for myself and for others.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

So far I have only met some people to show them around Saint-Petersburg. It went cool and fun! Sadly I don't have a chance to provide an overnight stop as I live in a rented flat and owners don't allow to let strangers in... but I will gladly meet you in the city, walk and show around! I love to share culture, experience, thoughts, stories, points of views on anything. The more people you meet the more you know. I want us all to know each other better to make the world a better place:) So if you want a company to see the city please contact me. I will be glad to help you!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am just amazed by this project. Seriously, such an obvious idea came to someones head and I wanna thank all who participates here.

Interests

My main passion is photography and snowboarding! I like listening to foreign languages, learning it. Poetry is also something I'm into. I also enjoy riding the bike, walking around the city, listening to music, read books.

Here's some of the pictures I take - http://www.flickr.com/photos/nikolaybonapartov/

Music, Movies & Books

I constatly look for a new music. I really like visiting concerts as there you get such a great emotions which aren't available elsewhere. Styles of music I like are trip-hop, instrumental hip-hop, downtempo, alternative rock, etc...

Some of my fav movies are Blow, Eternal Sinshine of the Spotless Mind, Paris je t'aime, Le Scaphandre et le papillon, Jeux d'enfants, The Notebook, Stay, Green Mile, Lock stock and two smoking barrels, Coffee and Cigarettes, etc.

Okay...as for books I do like many of them. My latest favorite book is "A Clockwork Orange" by Anthony Burgess. The language which is used in this book is amazing. Mix of English and my native Russian. I also love everything I've read so far by Douglas Coupland, particulary "Generation X". "One Over the Cuckoo's Nest" by Ken Kesey and Jerome David Salinger's "The Catcher in the Rye" are also in my top. Mark Twain, O'Henry, russian classic is what I like as well. I love Jack Kerouac's style of writing. And Charles Bukowski.
I have interest in poetry and lately I discovered quite a few good authors on the Internet. I read their blogs and this is like an alternative to poetry which i knew before. I'm also a big admirer of Joseph Brodsky.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I moved to England after graduation to live there for 1,5 years. May be doesn't sound like something big but believe me that wasn't really easy due to burocracy issues.

Parachute jump off 2000 metres! What emotions!

Teach, Learn, Share

Well I don't teach much. Maybe some Russian, English or French if you like!;) I can give some tips on taking photos on cheap plastic film cameras (which i personally use). I played accordeon but it was so long ago tha I already lost all my skills! I will share some of my patience, kindness and fun :)

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Belarus, China, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Russian Federation, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nikolay's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile