Logo orange

Julie Bryden

Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Afrikaans, German, Spanish, Xhosa
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Born in Umtata (Wild Coast, S Africa) and grew up in East London
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Start my own business!

ABOUT ME

I grew up in South Africa, studied to be a chef, worked in some poncy, overpriced restaurants for a few years before giving it all up for a one way ticket to Ireland! Where I was living and working for a great charity from 2004.
Then I gave it all up again for a one way ticket to South East Asia, where I was for a year, made some incredible friends, ate some awesome and sometimes downright horrible food, saw some amazing countries and even had a stint working on a beautiful tropical island in Cambodia! I then went on to India and Nepal, then taught English in Germany and worked as a nurse to Tetraplegics in England. I am currently living in Palermo, Buenos Aires with my boyfriend and 3 Frenchies and I'm enjoying myself immensely! Now I just need to improve my Spanish...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first CS experience was meeting fellow CS'ers in the pub in Dublin! Mainly Americans and all great fun! Definitely made some good mates out of it!
So far I've stayed with 1 CS'er in Bangkok and it was the best possible introduction to Thailand. Spent 4 nights with him and his Thai friends, even went away for the weekend with them to their condo in Hua Hin! Sweet! Have also met up with other random CS'ers travelling in other parts of SEA and they've all been great!

Interests

I love to travel, I enjoy anything thats new to me, I've lived in Ireland for almost 5 years and the Irish have taught me a lot! and not just how to drink heavily! I do enjoy my socialising very much though... and I'm very easily amused.
I love stuff, cats, rock climbing, laughing, deserts, swimming, talking, eddie izzard, pubs, fires and food amongst many, many things! I actually I should have put food at the beginning of my list. I love food from everywhere in the world and I will try everything once! (and thats not just including food!)

Music, Movies & Books

MGMT, Radiohead, Tory Amos, Tom Waits, The Rapture, Bjork, LCD Sound System, Hot Chip, Nick Drake, The Smiths, Super Furry Animals, The Beatles, The Flaming Lips, Leonard Cohen, David Bowie, Talking Heads, !!!, Tina, yes Tina Turner! amongst a few other gay icons!

Ok I'll come back to the books and movies, this profiling business is hard work! although I will say that the best books I've read this year are The Kite Runner, The life of Pi, In the Shadow of the Sun and Making History (and Im also a big fan of anything by PG Wodehouse)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Italy, Laos, Lesotho, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Singapore, Spain, Swaziland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Cambodia, Germany, Ireland, Nicaragua, South Africa, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile