Logo orange

Giulio Vampa

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Giulio's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in Italian; learning English, French
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Restless PhD student
  • BsC Physics, MsC Physics
  • From A bunch of different cities in Italy
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I think it can be resumed in "findind a new way of living"...

ABOUT ME

That's a hard task... I always have a hard time writing about me on the internet. I definitely prefer to talk face to face as I rely a lot on visual expressivity... After all I grew up in Italy :)
Anyways... I'm a spontaneous guy and I don't generally get too much scared about new situations... But at that point you could argue that that's not objective. Fair enough! So pretend I haven't written that.
Well... I don't like to waste mornings in bed, as I consider myself an active person. That's a useful information, isn't it? I like to travel and be part of what I see, not just a quick picture and go. Even though you may see me with the camera a lot but that's mainly because I try to keep my friends up to date and because I don't really trust my memory.
I'm fighting against a sedentary life, which my choices seem to imply (as somebody once pointed it out). And in trying to overcome this paradox I find myself dreaming of new (to me) "lifestyles"... In short, as anybody else on this planet, I'm just seeking my way. Constantly.

PHILOSOPHY

Why do I live my life? mmmhhh....

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I just registered. If I find it positive I'll contribute and use it more and more.

Interests

Local cultures, habits and music. Discover the tiny shop just behind the corner, or another small bay behind the cliff.
Speaking less high... I love sailing! That's one thing. And reading, of course. Ah, I love my native language. You could say that's because I just moved to Canada. Yeah, probably, but not only.
Have I mentioned my work, or what-is-hopefully-going-to-be-my-work? I love doing Physics, but I'm really not a geek or a nerd or whatever.
Sports? Yeah, a lot. I would say all of them. By predisposition I feel better in the water than on the earth. I've been playing waterpolo for MANY years (since medium school I guess..?). I like being active and feeling good with my body - I hope I'm not lost in translation, here. :P

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: "Home" is awesome. Most of the music I listen is Italian: Modena City Ramblers, Silvestri, Davide Van de Sfroos, Guccini and De André (of course), Lou Dalfin (not really italian, but occitaine). I liked ska a lot during high school, but I eventually moved to more diversified genres like folk, irish music (as style). I definitely dislike metal, hard rock, or whatever crushes my ears. About other singers, I love the soundtrack of Into the Wild by Eddie Vedder, and I lately listened to Suroit (which are great, btw).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Nautical camp on board of a 4m long catamaran along the coasts of slovenia and croatia in an unforgettable 2 weeks trip.
I once forced my travel mate to ride 2 more hours with the bike to see a famous shipwreck in Zante or Zacinto (Ζάκυνθος) in greece. It was worth but he got mad at me... I'm still sorry about that, Ben!

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn: playing the guitar, just to cite one I've been thinking lately. But then I've to update my profile frequently. I'm willing to learn almost everything, I would say. No restrictions...
Teach: I don't know what I can give. People can just take whatever they want from me... don't know what, though.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Giulio's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile