Logo orange

Cédric Hernandez

Paris, Ile-de-France, France

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cédric's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 97 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Former ERP Consultor ; figuring out ...
  • PhD & Masters (IT and Project Manage...
  • From Toulouse, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Figuring out what to do next

ABOUT ME

I love to travel since I discovered it by myself in an improvised trip in Argentina-Paraguay-Brazil-Bolivia-Chile as backpacker, while studying in Mendoza, Argentina. I met plenty of people (locals and travelers), so it's naturally that I discovered a few years later Hospitality Club and CouchSurfing.

I love any kind of activities I can do in the mountains. I feel really in peace with myself and the world being in a montain forest.
I discovered diving in 2013 and now look forward to my next dive! Love it!

I love books, music and cinema. Actually I practice many arts, but just for myself (electric bass, writing, drawing...)
I'm hungry of understanding and discovering, and I'm the kind of person who likes to ask "why". I really prefer to go deeper in an answer than getting satisfied by any general idea or cliché...
I really love speaking languages: I'm now into learning Japanese and Italian! Very different, and so very interesting!

... And now for many things you should discover by yourself! ;)

PHILOSOPHY

L'omnipotence du présent annihile le passé et transcende le futur.

"There are no strangers: just friends I've not met yet."

"Oh j'ai jamais pu oublier
L'odeur des endroits où j'irai
C'est seulement une question de moeurs
J'veux toujours être ailleurs" - Noir Désir

My goal is to live by my own business and to make a two years world trip. Step by step, I'm building my way.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm participating as a guest as well as a host for everybody. I like to share about travels and cultures.
My work makes me travel a lot, so I always try to meet local people for a drink.

I have been implying myself a lot into meetings in Madrid and so on, but lately I got kind of bored and disappointed about how things turned into...

In dec. 2012, I drop everything (job, etc.) to do a loong trip around South East Asia. After meeting a lot of wonderful people, I'm now in Toulouse, looking forward to find a job and a place of my own, so for now, impossible to host...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm in the Hospitality Club and BeWelcome communities too.My friend Roberto from Guatemala made me discover these websites when we were chatting about travels :)CouchSurfing and Hospitality Club really changed my life and opened me to new friends and new perspectives in life thanks to these meetings. People I hosted when I was living alone, in Madrid, Spain:Asia and her brother Jacek, from Poland . September 2007Mariana and Mariana, from Brasil . September 2007Susana and her friend, from Poland . September 2007Mary, from USA . September 2007Louise, from France . September 2007Irina, from Russia . October 2007 People I hosted when living with Roberto and Lucas, in Madrid, Spain:Anete, from Latvia and Dagna, from Poland . April 2008Eric and Fede, both from Argentina . April 2008Dinara, from Russia . May 2008Saara, from Finland . May 2008Belve, from Turkey . May 2008Tyrone, from Australia . May 2008Juan and Brenda, from Argentina . May 2008.Sarah, from Canada . Jule 2008Tatiana, from Venezuela . Jule 2008.Marlène, from Canada . July 2008Irina, from Russia . Again in September 2008Dimago, from Israel . September 2008.Robbie, from Indonesia . October 2008Ben, from USA . November 2008. People I hosted when living with Olga, in Madrid, Spain:Damien, from France . June 2009Kevin, from USA . September 2009 Alberto, from Italia . September 2009Paolo and Silvia, from Italia . September 2009Fer and Ruben, from Mexico . October 2009Marzena from Poland and Tom from Belgium . January 2010Hiro from Japan . January 2010Lucas from Brazil . February 2010Neda and Alireza from Iran . February 2010Brian from Netherlands . April 2010.Ewa from Poland . October 2010Constanza from Chile . January 2011Jayne from USA . February 2011Mi Zhang and Li Daiguo from China . October 2011Rafia and Michael from Pakistan . November 2011Jasmine from Australia . February 2012 People I hosted in Toulouse, France, in my mother's house:Olga, from Venezuela . November 2008Roberto, from Guatemala . November 2008Lucas, from Argentina . November 2008 I surfed:Marine, in Ourense, Spain . August 2007Ruben, in Santiago de Compostela, Spain . August 2007Pedro, in Granada, Spain . May 2008.Robino, in Amsterdam, Netherlands . June 2008.Brian, in Amsterdam, Netherlands . June 2008.Audur, in Reykjavik, Iceland . August 2008.Pedro, in Lisboa, Portugal . November 2008.Noe, in Burgos, Spain . April 2009.Simona, in Nitra, Slovakia . April 2009.María, Vigo, Spain . June 2009.Carmen, Santiago de Compostela, Spain . June 2009.Brian, in Amsterdam, Netherlands . July 2009.Dominika, in Krakow, Poland . August 2009.Grzegorz, in Krakow, Poland . August 2009.Ewa, in Lublin, Poland . August 2009.Aneta, in Warsaw, Poland . August 2009.Zofia, in Gdansk, Poland . August 2009.Asia, in Poznan, Poland . August 2009.Gabriel, in Strasbourg, France . December 2009.Cédric, in Strasbourg, France . December 2009.Stinne, in Copenhagen, Denmark . March 2010.Silvia and Paolo, in Mercato Saraceno, Italy . July 2010.Serdar Eren, in Istambul, Turkey . December 2011.Brian, in Amsterdam, Netherlands . March 2012.Carmencitilla, in Cairo, Egypt . June 2012.Hiro, in Tokyo, Japan . Dec 2012 - Jan 2013.Ratha, in Phnom Penh, Cambodia . Jan 2013.Trung, in Can Tho, Vietnam . Feb 2013.Li Daiguo, in DaLi, China . Mar 2013.Raj, in Pokhara, Nepal . Apr 2013.Alexey, in Koh Samui, Thailand . May 2013.Prashant, in Singapore, Singapore . June 2013.Hiro, in Tokyo, Japan . July 2013.
I organized the

Interests

I'm especially interested in meeting persons from countries I don't know yet, speaking other languages, learn about cultural, politic, social facts, etc.

I finally have started a class of photography :)

I'm not a big sports fanatic, but I really love one: rugby: I played when younger but had to stop for several years because I moved to a country where rugby almost doesn't exist, although I've found now a nice team :)

I love to trek (wild trekking) in any parts, as well as orientation races, and any mountain activity. I love to camp and be free when travelling.
Paradoxically, I also love to dive! My new thing! :) I suppose all of this is just about discovering the world.

I love to go to artistic events in Madrid: theater, expositions, etc.
Lately I've been involving myself into Wikipedia (en, es, fr) and find it incredibly interesting and rewarding :)

... And of course, I'm always dreaming about travels!

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Magnolia, Old Boy... Wong Kar Wai, Kim Ki Duk, Kubrick, Gondry, Lynch, Lars Von Trier, Paul Thomas Anderson...

Music: Chill Out, Jazz, Rock, Indie, Post Rock, Trip Hop... Noir Désir, Radiohead, The Doors...

Books: Bret Easton Ellis, Aldous Huxley, Barjavel, Jorge Luis Borges, Italo Calvino, Boris Vian, Raymond Queneau, Edgar Alan Poe, Amin Maalouf, Julio Cortazar, Jules Verne, Gabriel Garci­a Marquez...

Others: Dali­, Klimt, Steve McCurry, Ansel Adams, André Kertesz, Brassaï, Diane Arbus, Walter Benjamin, Aby Warburg...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

To see an anaconda jump onto my boat in Brazil;To be chased by a train on a bridge in Brazil;To cover a NGO project as a photographer in Caracas' favelas... and to cover an exclusive local venezuelian traditionnal celebration as a photographer... in the same two weeks...! And all the countries I visited bellow...:
visited 40 states (17.7%)Create your own visited map of The World

Teach, Learn, Share

I think I know pretty well cinema (and cinema's history).
I want to teach, learn and share about languages: I'm studying Japanese and Italian, so guests from these countries will have a special attention ;) I also am totally up for teaching you French or Spanish.
I'm always looking for the origin of everything: very interested in history and etymology.
I'm looking for a Polish person to translate a letter a CouchSurfer let me one day :)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, France, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Cédric's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile