Jessica Stutte's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese
  • 43, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • COCC- LOCAL municipality
  • Studied Art.Shaped by the world and the lives I encounter.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

am learning to see through sunflower eyes.

ABOUT ME

Summer is VERY busy for me as I teach swimming on top of my regular 40 and social life. But please message if you would like to meet. I can't promise I can host, but if I'm available I'm always up for meeting new people.

....suddenly the world feels very small. Scuba diving in Mexico was my first trip abroad. Been hooked on seeing new sites since.
I lived in Japan just over 5 1/2 years. Wakayama, Saitama & Sapporo. Each place means something different and special to me. Usually I try to travel to places where I already know people, but couchsurfing presents the opportunity to meet new people in new places...and I like that idea.
Now I'm back in my hometown learning to explore familiar grounds. It's hard to be back and not get into the same routine. I have a young daughter who is my lifejoy.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe there is a difference between a traveler and a tourist. I try to be a traveler. Listen to others. Be aware of what you say and do and know your surroundings.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Spread the word! CSing is great fun, as well as an awesome way to integrate yourself into the community.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

One of my best experiences was when I went to Abashiri in N.Eastern Hokkaido to see drift ice. We arrived by train and met our host. He promptly took us to a bar to experience drift ice cocktails. The next morning we went ice fishing and a huge gust of wind blew my chair over and my camera went sailing through the air straight to the ice hole I was pulling fish out of! It was unbelievable! But I didn't let it ruin my trip. After that we took a bath at a hot spring next to swans, saw a volcano, amazing snow covered landscapes, diamond dust....I've been back a few times since, it was so much fun!

Interests

I like scuba diving, have dabbled with surfing, a bit of skiing, soccer, softball, volleyball, curling and snowboarding!
I play Japanese drums and love karaoke. I love helping my friends find cheap flights.
I like cooking and baking, and hitting the town. I can be impulsive! My friends will tell you I'm a foodie.
Since becoming a home owner (eek adulting!) I have enjoyed gardening and diy projects. I love my house and hope if you stay you will find it to be cozy!

  • fish
  • cooking
  • cocktails
  • baking
  • traveling
  • drums
  • karaoke
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • soccer
  • volleyball
  • softball

Music, Movies, and Books

I'll read just about anything, though books on religion wear me out.

I love music and almost always have a song in my head. Lyrics are terribly important and I tend to like more serious music. Music I can't stop listening to include: Asa, Keane, Mew

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacking Hawaii Fiji and Australia stands out because it just opened my eyes to what the world held. I was constantly in awe, even when I sat on fire ants! Watching lava flow into the ocean, hiking through rainforest feeling the heat of lava tubes under my feet, learning about kava and cassava, seeing hundreds of rays congregate around the docks at night...how can I possibly choose one thing?

Teach, Learn, Share

If you have a headache pull on your earlobes gently. When you travel and you have a hard time adjusting to the time difference put your palms together and touch your fingers one by one to the same finger on the opposing hand. If you do this every hour it should have you completely adjusted for the time difference by the time you land.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A souvenir I hope. Eternal gratitude at the least.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Canada, China, Fiji, France, Germany, Guam, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Philippines, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, United States

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile.

My Groups