Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Helene’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 35 References 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Hungarian, Polish, Spanish; learning Italian, Lao, Persian (Farsi), Portuguese, Thai
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Journalist, travel and guidebook-writer, documentary film...
  • University - master's degree (international affairs), Hun...
  • From Evry, but It doesn't matter really...
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

The world and its people are just mind-blowing! My life has been about reporting on that wherever I could. (Among many other things) I finished a documentary experience on the city of Detroit (USA): www.detroitjetaime.com/ www.diymanifesto.com that still needs to be translated properly into English! Otherwise I'm a media correspondent for Eastern-Central Europe for French and International media, based from Budapest. I also review my very best spots in Budapest for a super cool website and app called Spotted By Locals: http://www.spottedbylocals.com/budapest/

ABOUT ME

Sorry guys I CAN'T HOST ANYONE RIGHT NOW! Among other things, I'm always on the move! I'm not going to be able to host you anywhere, be it Detroit, Budapest or Paris! (when in France, I live at my parents' in Evry, 30km away from to Paris). So sorry for not being able to pay back right now. But would love to meet you for coffee or a drink if I'm free and around! Actually, I'm always eager to meet anyone who can make me laugh telling me their genuine anecdotes from their trip or else for coffee or a drink! Don't mind my relative "low" reply rate, as I prefer replying by email instead of using the CS plateform. About taking you around in Paris (if I'm there!), I can give you some info and recommend places...that's about it though sorry... BUT if you want to discover the unknown beauty of a real cosmopolitan Paris, if you want to see places where people actually live, do all sorts of little funny businesses, if you want to discover hidden exotic spots ect... I'm always up to some urban exploration provided that I have time (and that's getting scarce I must say;()! Open-minded people, budget backpackers, hitch-hikers are people I feel close to since I'm one of them:)). I lived and worked in several countries in the past 10 years: Poland, Thailand, Detroit, Vienna and Hungary. I was an exchange student in Warsaw ; I lived in Bangkok for 6 months - I was doing an internship for an NGO working in Bangkok's slums - and I backpacked in the region (Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia) + in India. I've been working and living in Budapest for a French guidebook publisher since last year and worked as a correspondent for the French media, lots of fun! I especially like to travel off the beaten track and very cheaply, trying to meet people on my way, CSers HCers of course as well as tribes, any particular social group or individuals... and learn from them, exchange whatever they and I have. Even though I don't believe in unlimited cultural-adaptation-skills, I like trying to know more on other cultures and see how THEY consider me... I like to travel alone as I think one is more open to the road and the people in this specific condition! If I travel with other people, I need to feel we share the same philosophy, otherwise I really prefer being alone! I'm non-smoker and an uncomplicated guess, I really don't need much comfort;) I've lived in France for 19 years in a row - which is simply too much! I'm still making up for that! I get to travel more than a bit as I am working as a free lance journalist and documentary filmmaker. Well, I love exchanging all kind of life experiences, I also like clubbing from times to times with people who like it too :-).

PHILOSOPHY

Learn something new everyday!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I try to host whenever I can. I've hosted quite a few people in Warsaw, Bangkok, Paris, Budapest in the past. I'm an easy-going and nice guest/host whenever I'm using the network. I spread the word all the time about CS!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've used couch-surfing many times since I became a member in very different country and always loved it. I also used hospitality club (same nickname : boudika).

Interests

Travelling, meeting people, reading (well, I have less and less time for that...), learning foreign languages... Currently I'm not really learning any new language but I should really get back to that!

  • documentaries
  • beauty
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • coffee
  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • track and field
  • communications
  • journalism
  • languages
  • tourism
  • hitchhiking
  • urban exploration

Music, Movies, and Books

books : Sophie's world, Madame Bovary, Maupassant's Books (:-)) and many more! But I promise I can abstain from quoting them!
music: I like a few mainstream bands:) and lots of not so well-known ones! To name a few: The Beatles, Depeche mode, the Queens, Hey (Polish band)... Raz - dwa - trzy, Ultra bra (Band from Finland), Sami music), Korai Orum (HU band), Romano Drom, Barabas Lorinc, PASO, Irie Mafia, Marta Sebestyen... Flamenco... but also Calogero, Benabar (French singers), Latin music, Klezmer music, Samba and so on, bossa nova.. Real Roma/Gipsy music. I Love it some much. And African music! Mali - Senegal music...
Movies : I don't crave for American bluckbusters... meaning that I actually hate them! I like movies such as Good bye lenin, Les choristes, I loved Almodovar's Habla con ella, Werner Herzog is my guru! So is Tony Gatlif. I like movies which help me undertand mankind a little bit more...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled alone through the Baltic countries and Ukraine in the summer of 2005, if that can be something amazing! I used to stay at esperanto-speaking people's before I knew about CS but I no longer speak Esperanto:))

Low budget trip all-over Scandinavia in February 2006 with my Polish bestfriend-twin sister.
Nice hitch-hiking trip throughout Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam for 1 month (with another soul sister!) and India alone, from Chennai to Delhi for 3 weeks (too short obviously!) in 2007.
I've experienced a Lao weeding in a lost village of central Laos, hitchhiking with a friend. Unforgettableè

Hungary for two months and more, off the beaten track, sleeping alone outdoor in fields sometimes or even in a wine cellar, updating a travel-guide to the country!

A 10 day-trip in Transylvania in Oct 2009, from the Hungarian border up to Bucharest, partly hitch hiking alone in Szekelyfold, what a blast this part of Europe is!

Teach, Learn, Share

As much as I can:) my language skills, some food I may try to cook, my stories and anecdotes, the articles I wrote, my films and film projects, the little knowledge I gathered here and there, my big and quasi-permanent smile and laughters, some drinks, whatever!

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Helene’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups