Nicki Seminara

Boulder, CO, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 72% response rate
  • Last login 42 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicki’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Spanish, Swahili
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Grad student
  • Engineering
  • From Austin, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

****I will be out of town and unable to host from 12/20/15 - 1/6/16. And I've gotten a lot of lame Couch Requests lately (and declined them all)...use this link if you need some help to write an effective request:****

Hello! I spent the first 14 years of my life growing up in the awesome city of Austin, TX. When my dad got a job in Lakewood, CO in 2002, my family moved and has been there since. I got a degree in Environmental Engineering at CU, took a break for a few years to manage the biggest costume store in the state, and now I'm back at CU for my Master's.

When I'm not working or doing homework I enjoy hanging out at home. Hosting CouchSurfers is a great excuse for me to go exploring and try something new. I like to drink beer! Especially with CouchSurfers!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In the summer of 2010 I was visiting Washington DC and went to the CS group's weekly mixer. I had a great time, and when I got home to Boulder I thought it would be a great idea to start having a weekly meet-up in Boulder too...and now we do!

Here at home, I'm eager to share my Boulder with others. You could stay in the same city with ten different people and have ten different views and experiences...every local has something different to share that you won't find anywhere in a guide book or online.

I first used CouchSurfing to find friends when traveling solo in Ecuador. While I am not traveling, my aim is to provide others with the same awesome and enriched travels as I experienced in Ecuador. I ended up meeting people from all over the world and catching a 4am bus to a surfing town for my best New Year's Eve on record.


I like beer, tattoos, movies, Spanish, going out, staying in, Harry Potter, eating, engineering, beer, and penguins. I like getting to know new people and their history and their culture, but I have a hard time saying goodbye.

Disclaimer: I'm not big into hiking, mountain biking, skiing, snowboarding, or climbing. I might be the only person in Boulder you meet that doesn't love at least one of those things, but there you have it. That doesn't mean I don't want any outdoor enthusiasts to stay with me, it just means I can't recommend you any hiking trails but I can recommend plenty of other things to do in and around Boulder. Of course if you want to go hiking, feel free to invite me just in case!!

Music, Movies, and Books

Feel like staying in one night? Let's watch Netflix and eat popcorn!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've danced until the sun came up (amazing for me because I'm rarely in the dancing mood!), snorkeled with sea turtles on Christmas, hiked a 14er, hosted a CouchCrash, graduated college.

I think New Year's Eve is a disappointing holiday, so I have a tradition of being somewhere different every New Year's Eve. The list so far:

2010/2011: beach bonfire in Montañita, Ecuador
2011/2012: metal/reggae concert in Munich
2012/2013: bar in Cincinnati
2013/2014: house party in Seattle
2014/2015: concert in New Orleans
2015/2016: Nashville??

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak Spanish when I've had enough to drink.

What I Can Share with Hosts

In summer 2015 I spent two and a half months working for a local NGO in Nicaragua...ask me anything!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Germany, Nicaragua, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Nicki’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups