Erik Gerdén's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Erik’s full profile.

Overview

  • 24 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning French, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • HR Support/Controller
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learning spanish

ABOUT ME

By travelling and see the differences of people’s living standards, I will grow and be more and more humble. Travelling is my passion, and I am very lucky to have seen so many countries. I am a very chilled out guy who is truly interested in hearing peoples life stories and open to every culture. I could sit for hours just listen without saying a word, for me it makes me grow a lot.

PHILOSOPHY

To dare is to lose your footstep for the moment. Not to dare is to lose yourself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Same as you!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first CS experience was with Alexandre in Rio de Janeiro. We had a great day and he was a terrific guide and easy to feel safe with. After that I knew CS was the absolute best way to explore a city you've never been to before. Since then I've been showing people around in Stockholm and will continue with that because it's so much fun. From April to July in 2009 I went on a great trip around Central and South America. On this journey I stayed at Margaret's and Andrea's place in Guatemala when all hotels were booked up, great cook and coffee maker Mario in Costa Rica, Super-duper friendly family of Rodrigo Genit in Peru, Frix's immediate hospitality took me to his place in Sao Paolo and I also met Alexandre in Rio once again. This site is, no doubt about it, the best.

Interests

I like to try new stuff. So when I travel it feels necessary to try whatever the culture has to offer whether it's about some totally different food, activity or meeting new people for example. Every way to make yourself grow mentally belongs to my interests. Besides from all this I love to play guitar, watch tv/movies, music, eat good food with a great beer or wine to drink, relax. And also sports, especially soccer!

  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • drinking
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • cars
  • music
  • guitar
  • backpacking
  • sports
  • soccer
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Midnight Express, Stand by me, City of God, Sleepers, The motorcycle diaries.

Bryan Ferry, Fleetwood mac, Evert Taube, Tunng, Fountains of Wayne etc.

The Magus (John Fowles), Animal Farm (George Orwell), Crime and punishment (Dostoyevskiy)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacking my way to final stop Rio de Janeiro via Cuba, Central and South America, 12 countries in three months was just incredible. To look at old cars passing by in Havana, be amazed by guatemalan easter celebrations, taking a bath in the volcano's crater lagoon in Nicaragua, stare at the green sceneries of Costa Rica, See dolphins play in Panama, Machu Pichu in Peru, get blinded in the eyes by the salt deserts of Bolivia, go to a soccer game in Buenos Aires, the Iguassu falls or maybe the helicopter ride over Rio de Janeiro. I have done so many uncountable amazing stuff and have promised myself to do many, many more.

visited 54 states (24%)Create your own visited map of The World or Triposo world travel guide for Android

Teach, Learn, Share

Helping other people is just not for them, but also for you and your own good. To get some you have to give some, that's why I'd gladly help you out if you are going here or have any questions. With all these contacts you get, it's not just a possible couch to sleep on that comes with it, but a good friend abroad.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Spain, Sweden

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Erik’s full profile.

My Groups