Brian & Sonia's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English, Hawaiian, Spanish
  • 66, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Musician, Musical Instrument Manufacturer
  • I have BA in Psychology/ Sonia has BA + Teaching Certificate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

My partner is Sonia, and we always travel together. We have an age difference… our "youthfulness" factor is about 30-ish, I would say. We usually have a reason to travel, then add as many extra days or weeks as possible to enjoy the people there.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We have often used Airbnb, with great experiences. You can see our profile there. We know that couch surfing is mostly a younger, more spontaneous crowd, and we think it will be nice. Also, we would like to strengthen the barter system, and the trust that it is based on. We will be happy to offer stories, music, fixing things, cooking great vegetarian meals during our stay. And if you have bikes we can borrow/rent, we will be ecstatic!

Interests

Our shared interests are: music (playing instruments, singing), books, teaching, meeting people, learning about local communities.

  • books
  • singing
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • surfing
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Zimbabwe Music, Gypsy Music, Waking Life film by Richard Linklater, Books by Sherman Alexie (these are today's favorites..we could go on forever).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In Barcelona, we met mother and daughter Pilar & Pilar, and liked them so much we went to work in their restaurant for free. Lately we are both teaching…Sonia as a Special Ed Middle School in Hawaii Public Schools, and Brian as a music teacher at the Waldorf High School.

Teach, Learn, Share

We will be attending a Musicians without Borders "Training of Trainers" in Amsterdam this summer. It's a program whose purpose is to help people in post-conflict situations to recover their motivation to revive their cultural music after their communities have suffered great loss during warfare.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We are very tidy, and excellent cooks. Sonia always travels with her family-recipe tea spice to make the most excellent Chai, and I always travel with my Lebanese coffee setup. I am also able to fix almost anything with available materials, and Sonia and I will be delighted to play music with you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Austria, Canada, Denmark, Fiji, France, Germany, Guatemala, Japan, Mexico, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups