Briana Bivens's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Briana’s full profile.


  • 2 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Graduate Assistant in the Office of Diversity, Equity, an...
  • Ph.D. student, Educational Theory, University of Georgia
  • From Orlando, FL, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hi friends!

I like politics, philosophy, hiking, board games, and reading. I can be shy and quiet, but I am a good listener and love hearing folks' ideas about these things and more. It takes me a minute to open up to new people, but when I do, I promise you good conversation!

I live in Athens, GA where I've fallen in love with the community passion and the political potential for transformative change. I have managed local and statewide campaigns and am now taking a little break from campaign work to focus on travel, self care, and my PhD studies. I am studying Educational Theory and Practice at the University of Georgia.

I am compassionate and hopeful for a world without racism, sexism, classism, and all other forms of domination. I'll do what I can in this life to be a part of the tough but necessary work toward building an equitable society.

I like red wine and local beer (Athens is good for beer!). A mosquito-free night on the porch with a good book and my two doggies is a perfect night.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am on Couchsurfing because I--like all of you, I imagine!--love to travel and to meet new people. I have lived in the southern U.S. (Florida and Georgia) all my life, but my greatest joys have been traveling to places like California where I got to literally hug a redwood and Tijuana where dear family and friends live.

Couchsurfing is about more than a place to stay. For me, it is a chance to meet cool new people from across the world, exchange ideas, and build lasting friendships. So let's hang out!


  • board games
  • reading
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • tennis
  • philosophy
  • beaches
  • craft beer
  • local food
  • progressive politics
  • radical politics
  • political philosophy

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Belle and Sebastian, Bright Eyes, She & Him, Simon and Garfunkel, Brand New, Linqua Franqua, Rilo Kiley

Movies: Noah Baumbach films are my favorite!

Books: I like reading Franz Kafka, Ursula Le Guin, Albert Camus, Michel Foucault, Octavia Butler. I am getting more interested in fantasy and science fiction, so I would love recommendations! The Lord of the Rings trilogy is next on my list (it's never too late!).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

At age 15, I got lost in a crowd of anti-war protesters in London who were rallying against the Iraq War. Maybe this planted the seeds of my obsession with social movements?

I have always been a pretty cautious person, but when I met my partner Adam, I like to think I became a little more spontaneous :) Our first day spending time together, we walked miles around Athens talking about all sorts of things. We walked on train tracks until we heard the "Choo" in the distance so we swept to the side. The train flew past us and the wind almost knocked us over and in the fervor of the night, we shared our first kiss. (Okay, I guess I'm sort of a cheesy romantic, too.)

Teach, Learn, Share

I am learning to garden! I am growing a variety of spicy peppers. I have recently become interested in Reiki and other spiritual self care approaches. My interest in fantasy, Afro Futurism, and science fiction is growing quickly. I want so badly to learn French and Spanish but I need a dedicated learning partner!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am happy to share good, sincere conversation about anything and everything, but especially politics, culture, history, traveling, and literature.

I also love board games! Settlers of Catan is my favorite, so I am always up for a match. I love trying new board games, too. I am also a big Boggle enthusiast.

I try my best to share everything with everyone. This includes not only ideas, but also food, drink, and space.

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Mexico, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Briana’s full profile.