Brian Bilek's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 87% response rate
  • Last login about 19 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 11 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Spanish
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Entrepreneur
  • Master of Business Administration
  • From Danbury, CT, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Finding ways to help individuals in the world community gain greater freedom and agency. Connection with people from all walks of life.


I'm in the middle of taking a new step in my career, so my time is rather limited these days.

I am an open-minded, adventurous person who enjoys new experiences and meeting new people. I love to travel and I love to hear the stories of fellow travelers. I'm generous with those I care about, and everyone I meet. Each day I strive to learn something new, either in the world or in myself, and not one day ever goes by where I am disappointed in what I've found. I love a bit of everything - laughing with good friends, intimate conversations held over good food and wine, partying until the sun rises, and especially long, intellectually stimulating conversations with people from whom I can learn (and I believe one has something to learn from everyone one meets).


Live and let live. Embrace new experiences with an open mind and an open heart. Create and cultivate connections with the people and world around me. Leave people and situations better off than when I first encounter them. Explore, learn and grow.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I recently left my place in the SoMA district of San Francisco and moved to a home in the Oakland Hills. It's currently being renovated and so my availability to host is limited, though it may be possible on an emergency basis. I do love to meet up with fellow travelers from around the world and swap stories, as well as show foreigners the things I love about where I live.


I have not stayed with anyone through this website as of yet, though I have often had guests stay in the various homes where I have lived, and have had great experiences hosting surfers since I joined the site. I try to take part in various CS events as well when I have time.


Getting to know people, exploring the world, adventures, photography, reading, playing, learning new things, new experiences of all kinds. Helping people.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Bastille, Radiohead, Bonobo, Tiesto, Young Wonder, Massive Attack, Muse, Blackmill, Blackbird Blackbird, Blue Foundation, Baths, Ferry Corsten

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Looking out over Mt. Everest & the Khumbu glacier after climbing to 5500m/18000ft. Seeing a wonderful act of kindness from a homeless person on the streets of San Francisco. Frolicking in the mist from beneath Niagara Falls. Playing in the falling snow and sipping hot gluvine in the winter market in the shadow of the cathedral of Strasbourg.

Teach, Learn, Share

I pride myself on being able to help visitors to my city find new and interesting things to see, do, eat and drink based on what their interests and budget are. Give me some parameters around what you're looking for and I'll do my best with advice.

I can also provide tips on how to get great photos.

I crave knowledge, so teach me anything!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My home, food, drink, and advice from a former professional photographer.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Martinique, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Norway, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups