Logo orange

Britt Stikvoort

Haninge, Stockholm, Sweden

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Britt's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Norwegian
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Internship in Hungary, Gyor
  • Student
  • From Wageningen, the Netherlands
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Re-climatize to the Netherlands... will it ever stop raining?

ABOUT ME

By day, a student of communication sciences from the University of Wageningen,...
By night,... I'm asleep!

I am a great fan of the Fjords and Lofoten in Norway. I love nature, wilderness and related, but also to see and observe other people, so I also have a strange attraction to large cities. Stockholm is the nicest city I have ever been too!

So if I could choose, my ideal future would be something like: Having an appartment in downtown Stockholm, and then an outhouse in the Fjords of Norway... Anyone feel like sharing in this dream, because if I drive to and from these homes, I still have room in my car for three more!!!

PHILOSOPHY

't kan verkeeren (this is a saying of a (very) old Dutch poet Bredero, and it roughly translates into: "things happen"

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Currently I am not 'sharing' a couch, because I do not own a couch. I am staying at a hospice in Gyor, so that won't do.
But I would really like to meet new people and, even if I can't offer them a couch, I could offer them my company, for what it's worth (I am cafeïne addicted, so drinking a cup-a-coffee is never a bad idea!)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have surfed a couch! Finally! It's a huge step in the right direction for me, I've thought about doing it or not doing it for too long, and finally did it...

Well, TECHNICALLY... it wasn't a couch, but a proper bed. But it took place at a certified CS-er, so I'm counting it as a couch-surfing experience anyhow!

Interests

secretively observing people (but hush, don't tell them), reading, hiking, walking, being underway, travelling, seeing new places, new cultures, philosophy-talk ...

lots of philosophy talk... psychology is also welcome... introspection, also fine :), I can even do science, given the right atmosphere

Can't talk fashion, though, so don't ask me about the latest smell of Dior or bags of Dolce

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Anything Monty Python, 13th Warrior
Music: Folk Metal (Eluveitie, Korpiklaani, Turisas, Finntroll...)
Books: Fantasy and history, preferribly related to Vikings as I love all things vikingish

Summed up: ANYTHING RELATED TO VIKINGS

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've been to Hell (for real, there is a place in Norway called Hell, and I really HAVE been there)

Teach, Learn, Share

However grim the future may appear, quitting is never the solution

How come? You always make a comparison of options, and then choose the best possible one. Though quitting is always one of the options, it can never be the best, because it always leaves you with nothing, whereas other options may leave you with chances, however slim they may be...

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, South Africa, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Hungary, Netherlands, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Britt's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile