Benjamin Sweely's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 39 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • student
  • Degree in Anthropology with a minor in Geography. Studied...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Whether to stay in school or not


This is always the most difficult thing for me to define.I guess look at my interests below... I love to travel,meet people,have new experiences. All of those things are very important to me. I enjoy being around people that value experiences as much as personal accomplishments, such as career for example.
Ideally I will come across individuals who are trying to combine both,which in my opinion, contributes to overall growth.

That being said, I am starting school again soon and am quite excited!
Hopefully this is the next stage of my journey in the pursuit of understanding and manifesting sustainability, justice, peace, spirituality, and knowledge through media and arts channels. Bringing these into a cohesive whole is something I have been pursuing for years. Often times it was quite misguided and very frustrating. To keep pushing forward is the most important thing though.


Try to live as simple as possible. In this way I feel that I can pursue such things that are important to mine,others,and the planet's overall growth.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have couchsurfed in various countries and many times it was quite a positive experience. I am new to the couch surfing project so I hope to have many more opportunities in the future.


I am vegan and eat mostly raw. I almost live entirely off of smoothies!! I enjoy conjuring up new smoothie recipes often. My employment is at a vegan restaurant at the moment actually. Parkour is a new fascination of mine. Hanging at the skate ramp in my back yard and riding bikes around town is something else I enjoy very much.

Any topic centered around sustainability and social justice or equality interests me very much. I have been involved with environmental and social issues for years. I have worked on organic farms,with non-profit urban agricultural groups,eco-educational facilities....

I love good music,movies,books,tattoos,photography, it. Of course good is relative and subjective but I have my opinion as well. Walks in the park and drinking at beer gardens are all equally important to me.

Teas and tea shops are a fascination of mine,especially if they are fair trade and sustainably produced. I am just as open to hanging out and having tea as to having "other" drinks. I probably should do that more often actually!

Sustainability and social justice pursued through media channels is a current fascination. I may further my education in this field actually. I am searching for a way to combine the arts,academia,and policy into one cohesive sustainable whole. So, if anyone has something to share in this field I am completely open to learn.

That being said, I am also open to anyone regardless of background or interest. It is more important to be exposed to many different beliefs and cultures than to stick within a "defined" group.
So, sorry for the long list of interests!! I go through week may only be a sentence. I hope to meet many of you either here or somewhere out there!!!

  • arts
  • books
  • photography
  • tattoos
  • education
  • recipes
  • beer
  • vegan
  • drinking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • surfing
  • communications
  • teaching
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Where do I begin? Watched the latest Herzog movie last night and quite enjoyed it...too many to mention. Read Lonely Werewolf Girl recently and really liked it,surprisingly. Music? The same...don't know where to begin. Right now I am listening to Boards of Canada..

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seen the Sahara Desert.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know NYC pretty well,specifically Brooklyn. I am familiar with resources and organizations that host some really interesting..and usually Something you may not see as a tourist. Many of my friends here are bartenders. That means going out and paying much less than you would normally. Drinking in this town is expensive!! I have also made some journeys out of town a few times. If you want to get out of town and see the beach or mountains I may have a few suggestions.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    11 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups