Lily E Buttrick

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Lily E Buttrick

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lily E’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), French
  • 41, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Traveler, spiritually inclined climber
  • I have a BA in Politics, PG Dip in Environmental Decision...
  • From Grimsby, Lincolnshire grew up elsewhere in the region
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION- if you need to reach me the best email is as I was not receiving requests on the email linked to this profile!

To be a happy little bunny!!


Since losing my house in the earthquake I have bought a house in Auckland. I can host occasionally depending on my flatmate situation. I am currently working so do not have the same time I used to when running my own business. If you are independent and want a chilled out place to stay and meet my lovely and interesting friends then staying with me might be for you.

I moved to New Zealand Jan 2009 after falling in love with the country during a visit in 2007.. I have spent many years traveling and working overseas so enjoy meeting new people and learning about different cultures. As I have been very lucky whilst traveling and have enjoyed the kindness of strangers. I want to keep passing it forward.

I am a motorbike enthusiasts and whenever possible I am down at the track, usually videoing and taking photos of my friends whilst either practicing or racing. I am not quite race level yet! I have traveled around Europe on a motorbike and managed to visit France, Spain, Italy, Switzerland (drove through Germany in a day) to get to Holland and then through Belgium. I loved every minute of it although the G.P.S was interesting and sometimes daunting as it involved me on the back of the bike with a map tapping on shoulders to give directions! Hopefully once I can afford a bigger bike I can take a road trip around the stunning and magnificent South Island.

I am animal lovers and will be sharing my house with my new baby Freya (kitten) soon once she has seen the vet and I can adopt her.

Recently I just got back into photography which has really reawakened the spirit. Over the summer months I am oping to get our and about more with my camera whether it is during camping trips or whilst climbing and hiking.

I am into meditation and yoga so this is a chilled out spiritual house.


Live life. Do no harm.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am looking to help people traveling in this area to have a great visit. I love to be able to take visitors to those places that only the locals know about and that are special to me. I am a mad traveler when the funds allow it and would really appreciate the opportunity to be able to visit other places and stay with kind people.


I have had approximately 50-60 people come to stay and have had four people stay at the same time a few times which worked and was fun. If I am free I like to take people out and about to show then the local area. I have had someone (not a couchsurfer but another traveler) stay for three months so that was an interesting experience.
I have recently visited from Japan and have been extremely lucky to have been able to stay with a variety of different hosts from numerous cultures and backgrounds. It was such a great experience to see couchsurfing from the surfers perspective!! I am looking forward to hosting some of my hosts when they come and visit New Zealand.


Psychology- strange as that is the field in which I recently worked until I decided life was too short and decided to travel and change my whole life course.I love to travel and live overseas and am pretty crazy when I have the chance! So many things.

Practicing Reiki and giving oracle card readings for those interested.

Music, Movies, and Books

One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, The Prince, The Art of War (both of them), The Ninja, anything by Chomsky and John Pilger, What the bleep, The Usual Suspect, Fried Green Tomatoes, Tim, Identity, Pink Floyd, The Who, Editors, Rachmaninov, Birds of Tokyo and so many more

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Dived with sharks which was amazing. Love hanging out with Vietnamese people in Nha Trang who has never seen a westerner in there local area before and had amazing experience sitting in a monastery garden communicating with some Vietnamese monks through a gardener who spoke English. During this trip in Canada I saw a mother bear playing with her cub in the snow in the middle of summer!!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a reiki Master Teacher so can give reiki sessions as well as teach reiki. I am interested in developing a more holistic approach to healing and would like to study Crystal healing and massage therapy. Would be very happy to exchange Reiki for being hosted!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Netherlands, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, England, Lithuania, New Zealand, Singapore, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Lily E’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups