Accepting Guests

  • 33% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Philippe’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 63 References 48 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Swedish; learning Japanese
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Yin Yoga Teacher & Musician
  • Degrees in Film, Swedish and French Language
  • From Étampes, Île-de-France, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

If you want to make a request to stay at my flat please have the decency to read my profile. People who just send some random request without taking the time to read won't get any answer. Couchsurfing is about sharing and meeting new people. It is not just a way to spare some money on hostel and such.
Type the word kantele in your request and I'll know then ;-)

CURRENT MISSION

To become a better person, to disindentify with the ego and the mind / to live in the present moment.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 33 years old musician and Yin Yoga teacher living in Montreuil, the coolest and closest parisian suburb in the East. I live with a 6 months cat named Bianca. She is crazy and adorable.

I'm in passion with music which is the best way I found to express myself and connect with others. I play a very rare instrument called Kantele, a 38 piano strings harp from Finland. It has a magical sound. I listen to all kind of music and my favorites bands are Blonde Redhead, Liars, Catpower for the indie rock, Norwegian composers as Nils Økland, Christian Wallumrød, Arve Henriksen, Sidsel Endresel, American contemporary music as Michael Nyman, Philip Glass, Steve Reich, Arvo Pärt, classical french musician as Erik Satie, Maurice Ravel, Claude Debussy and so on.

I spend most of my time teaching Yin Yoga, a type of Yoga focusing on ligaments, tendons, joins. It is an amazing practice which develops the flexibility of the body and of the mind. I do everything by bike in Paris. I love food and to try new dishes. Couchsurfers you're welcome to cook at my house ! I have a fairly busy schedule but happy to show you around.

PHILOSOPHY

Strive to be happy, not hurt people

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Showing around, giving tips, hosting, surfing, promoting the couchsurfing project all around me. I hosted several times and enjoyed it a lot. I surfed even more and recently especially while touring with my band. It's been a lot of fun and a numerous of great encounters. I'm working on launching a similar website but for musicians needs ! (backline and so on)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Too many to resume them here ! I JUST LOVE IT.
visited 26 states (11.5%)Create your own visited map of The World or Triposo world travel guide for Android

Interests

Music, yoga, tennis, swimming, meditation, theater, contemporary dance, films, food, languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music : Arve Henriksen, Penguin Cafe Orchestra, Blonde Redhead, Liars, Deerhoof, Holden, The Ex, Nils Okland, Christian Wallumrod Ensemble, Philip Glass, Steve Reich, Michael Nyman, Erik Satie, Maurice Ravel, Igor Stravinsky, Dmitri Shostakovich, Arvo Pärt, Gavin Bryars, Terry Riley and many more

Litterature : Eckhart Tolle, Bruce Liption, Richard Brautigan's books are my favorites

Movies : Mainly documentaries (Johan Van Der Keuken for exemple), some fiction movies (Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind, Melancholia, Mustang...)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Alice Springs
Glacier walk and trip through the fjords of Norway
Riding bike in Lapland
Crashing a car in Montenegro
Playing in a skatepark in Texas
Being bicycle messenger in Paris
Toured with my band in Eastern Europe
Sleeping in a laundry...
To learn to play the kantele, the national instrument of Finland

Teach, Learn, Share

Music
Yoga
French
Swedish
Cooking
MAO

What I Can Share with Hosts

Some tips about the city
Knowledge about yoga and music
Promenade and meals
Good conversation

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Norway, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Philippe’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups