William G. Byholt's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see William G.’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian; learning Indonesian, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Professional Explorer / Travel Specialist
  • Norwegian School of Sport Sciences
  • From Akershus, Norway
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a traveler at heart and a restless spirit. After I caught the travel bug back in 2010, I never really looked back, and I've ever since pursued a lifestyle where I can combine my passions for traveling, expeditions and sports into an actual career. I also have a B.Sc in Sports Biology.

I've traveled to more than 80 different countries, and I'm especially intrigued by lesser-known destinations. When I'm home in Norway, I keep myself occupied with various sports. I like running, weightlifting, cycling, skiing and rock climbing, but I'm making an effort to learn or try a few new sports in every year. I recently took up snow kiting and randonee skiing, which has been absolutely amazing.

I see myself as a very outgoing introvert, which means that I love long an meaningful conversations, but I also need some time alone every day. I'm a big food-lover and extremely enthusiastic about red wine.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is a perfect way to interact with locals when traveling. I've had enough nights in hotel rooms for a lifetime, and I appreciate so much more spending the night in a place that feels like an actual home. It also opens up for many exciting conversations!

Interests

Traveling, sports (not football!), mountaineering, photography, cooking, wine, motorcycles.

In general, I love learning new things, and I'm always keen to hear what other people are passionate about.

  • culture
  • exercise
  • running
  • working out
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • hunting
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • skateboarding
  • sports
  • swimming
  • biology
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Shantaram is one of my favorite books. An absolutely incredible story.

I enjoy reading travel books, especially where people share their long journeys across the world, or from specific adventure.

Jordan Peterson's latest book was for me also a great read.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I completed the world's first solo crossing of Balkhash Lake in Kazakhstan. I spent 23 days skiing and walking alone across the frozen lake - unaided and without any support.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love sharing my knowledge about sports and exercise, as I've been working as a trainer for many years. I'm also happy to talk about some of the mental techniques I use to cope with tough conditions on challenging expeditions. In general, I'm eager to learn anything new, as long as there's passion involved.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share stories from my many adventures across the world.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, France, French Guiana, Georgia, Germany, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Norway

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see William G.’s full profile.

My Groups