Carolyn McPherson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 83% response rate
  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carolyn’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 84 References 43 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • teach yoga, dance, start my business
  • Bcomm in International Business
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I have a big dream of starting my own dance&yoga eco-retreat center, so I'm trying to do a lot of things which work towards this goal. For the past few years I have worked as a yoga teacher: in Angola, India, the Dominican Republic, and Nicaragua. Previously I had some business related jobs in The Philippines, Ghana, and Uganda. I also worked as an English teacher for one year in South Korea.

I am very open minded, and love learning about different cultures and trying new foods. I obviously love to travel, especially to "off the beaten track" places, and to developing countries. I am quite active and love outdoor things, especially in the mountains. My biggest passion is dance. I am always happy. I love my life, and I love other happy people!!

I am quite health-conscious. I don't drink alcohol, smoke or eat meat, and I try to eat healthy, unprocessed foods! I cycle commute or walk when possible, and do a lot of physical activities.

To learn more about me:
My writing: carolynwriting.wordpress.com
My videos: youtube.com/user/camcpher
My pictures: instagram.com/carolynmcp

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Host and hang out with CSers when possible
Surfing when I travel.

I used to be very active in CS, frequently hosting, and surfing whenever I travelled. However recently, I've had some experiences not aligned with the "CS spirit" (or at least my perception of it). I'm still hoping to meet the genuine CSers out there, but am not quite as active as I once was.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

While studying in Taipei in 2009, I met a ton of other couch surfers, and thought it was such a neat idea. I joined then and had my first surfing experience in the Philippines shortly after. Since then, I have hosted a few times in Calgary, lots in Kampala, surfed in Europe, Africa, US, & Asia been to meetings here and there, and used the group pages so much! And always looking for more!

Interests

Dancing (salsa, bachata, kizomba, semba, merengue, samba, and any other afro-latin stles) yoga (acroyoga / acro-yoga), highland dance, cycling, capoeira, mountain biking, tea, reading, hiking, entrepreneurship, business, community development, sustainability, treehouses, eco-tourism, eating, renewable energy, microfinance

  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • bachata
  • capoeira
  • yoga
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • business
  • entrepreneurship
  • tourism
  • ecotourism
  • mountains
  • kizomba

Music, Movies, and Books

I love to read, and will read almost anything! Right now I am mostly reading nonfiction books relating to yoga & spirituality, business, development, the environment, history, etc. I have a huge collection of books and when (if) I have my own house, there will be a library in it!

I listen to most types of music, but these days it is mostly Latin (bachata, salsa, merengue, reggaeton, zouk, kizomba, etc) Also like many types of African music.

I never watch tv, and rarely watch movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have had a lot of amazing experiences, which I would love to share with you when we meet in person!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to dance! I can teach Highland dance. I'm decent at most of the Latin dances (salsa, bachata, merengue, kizomba, samba), so I can teach those, but also want to learn more. I've taken some Afro and hip hop classes. I love to learn any new types of dance, and share the ones I already know by performing or teaching!

I can teach yoga :)

I would like to continue improving my Spanish and Portuguese.

And I am always up for learning new things.. anything!

Countries I’ve Visited

Angola, Austria, Belgium, Benin, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malaysia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Philippines, Rwanda, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Dominican Republic, India, Philippines, South Korea, Uganda

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Carolyn’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups