Abraham Kan

Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Abraham’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, Yue (Cantonese); learning French, Japanese, Yiddish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Manufacturing sales coordinator
  • University
  • From SAR Hong Kong
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Being a host in Hong Kong/Macau and building up my CS cred. I want to be a Couch Surfing Super Star!


I'm a first generation Canadian Chinese back here in Hong Kong for good. Living here can feel really cramped at times so I either go for a long grueling day hike climbing around the different mountain ridges or pack my things and go hunt for some bargain discount airline tickets.

Sometimes I just laze at home playing videogames and try to sort out my backlog of photos and analog film.

Used to do long stints of overland South East Asia travel, but nowadays I'm a salary man doing weekend trips (working).


We are all very privileged to be a tourist and go to different parts of the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I love hosting and have great pride in my city. I show visitors around town either through old villages, hole in the wall diners or doing more local things. It's just that nowadays I'm pretty busy with work and have to go to Shanghai/Guangzhou/Shenzhen and other parts of China from time to time.

But sometimes people get tired from traveling or living abroad so we go for some comfort food - Western or Chinese.


Before I was verified, I met other CSers through other forums and friends of friends. All have been great to me. I also host from time to time. I mostly hosted and showed people around town taking them to more local off the wall places.

Surfing wise, it's only through friends of friends. I feel like I should have official couch cred before I impose on unknown strangers. I'm the kind of surfer who likes to hang out with his host but when I leave I always do some chores and take out the trash.


Learning stuff. If I'm outside then it's photography, hiking and urban exploring. Indoors then it's cooking, learning history through museums and video games.

Music, Movies, and Books


I enjoy instrumental and dance music like Daft Punk and El Ten Eleven. If I feel like listening to some lyrics I like alternative rock like Coldplay, or hip hop like Jurassic 5. Nope I'm not a gansta and never consider myself to be one ever. If I feel like listening to something different then maybe the Japanese pop group like Capsule, or world music like Deep Forest. Nowadays my friends are dragging me into different local indie bands like Poubelle International, The Sleeves, and Bombay Bicycle Club.


I adore movies and can watch the same movie multiple times. Sometimes I watch for the plot hook, lighting, shot, cinematography, or trying to pick out the obscure details and faint continuities in a Wong Car Wai (Chung King Express, 重慶森林). It is always fun to revisit a Tarentino (Reservoir Dogs), Hitchcock (Vertigo), Kubrick (The Shining), and old Spielberg(Schindler's List). Chick flicks like The Proposal and Notting Hill are pop corn munching guilty pleasures.

Comedies are also great too. Who can reject (Little Miss Sunshine) and (The 40 year old Virgin), or the foreign film like (Life is Beautiful), (Good Bye Lenin!)?


I'm slowly developing the habit to read more books. I enjoy non fiction a bit more but I do love The Trial. Memoirs like Enemy of the State is very interesting. Favourites are Confessions of a Subprime lender, Freakonomics and of course Earth: A visitor's guide to the Human Race by Jon Steward. Know a book you think I'd like? Tell me and I will read it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Bungee jumping 233 meters off the Macau tower!

Back packing from Hanoi , Vietnam and traveling overland to Singapore. Going across The Eastern Seaboard of America by bus and going to California.

Japan Rail pass across Japan by bullet train.

visited 20 states (8.88%)Create your own visited map of The World or Free iphone travel guide

Teach, Learn, Share

Learning about local language, history, economic dynamics of different area is fun.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, China, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Netherlands, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, China

Join Couchsurfing to see Abraham’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups