Logo orange

Ali Sharafat

Mountain View, CA, USA

Accepting Guests

35% response rate · Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ali's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Persian (Farsi); learning French
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • working through my PhD
  • From Stanford
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Watch football, meet people, make money

ABOUT ME

I'm a PhD student at Stanford. I've lived in Canada and Iran previously and I visit both places at least once a year. I'd love to travel, but school and lack of money have restricted my travel a bit. I still do a few roadtrips once a while whenever we get a break :)

There are three things I love: football, people, money. I get to enjoy the first two now, but the last one is a mission. I am a die hard Barcelona fan and watch all their games throughout the year. After being in Rome during the Champions League final in 2009 and feeling the excitement and passion of football fans, I decided to make to the CL Finals whenever I get a chance.

On a personal level, I'm very laidback and relaxed. During weekdays, I'm usually busy with school and my breaks are dedicated to chatting with friends or getting my game on my PS3. During weekends, I try to get off campus and visit and party with more distant friends. Be it in Santa Clara or San Francisco or anywhere else in the Bay Area

PHILOSOPHY

What goes around comes around. At the end of the day the world balances itself out.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I live in a 2 bedroom condo with a friend of mine. If we are not too busy, you can stay at our place. I prefer to host surfers for short periods, so usually I host for 1-2 days.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm actually new to CS. I've had friends couch surfing at my place for a while, but never strangers. It seems like an exciting experience and I'm really up for it.

Interests

Watching Football; Partying; Playing PES on PS3 and sh*t talking; I really enjoy cooking and I've been told I'm a pretty good chef; Roadtrips

Music, Movies & Books

Not a really book person, but I enjoy reading well-written articles.
Music-wise, my taste has changed over time. I've grown from Pop to Hip Hop to House. Right now, Romanian house music is my favourite!

Movies, Sitcoms: Memento, Guy Ritchi movies, David Lynch movies, Sopranos, God Father Trilogy, Lost, ...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Roadtripping through europe during the summer of 2009. It was an amazing experience where I got to see, learn, and enjoy so much.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Iran, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ali's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile