Logo orange

callum_08

Elsternwick, Victoria, Australia

Accepting Guests

66% response rate · Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see callum_08's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 26 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • government/enviro
  • science and law
  • From melbourne
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to discover the difference between getting to the heart of things and escaping it

ABOUT ME

Working in State Government projects, a preference towards the environmental side but I end up doing a lot of regulatory stuff. Its all OK, I don't believe a job, or possessions, make a person who they are!
Love to get out on the weekends for camping hiking or cycling. In fact if you come and stay, there is a good chance we could line up a hike somewhere special.
Love hosting and making a great comfortable place for my guests...Its the sort of place you can be as relaxed as u like.
Good food and great coffee, Melbourne has it on tap and very nearby.
I try and find some creative outlets in the home, hence my never ending kitchen renovation.
Living alone and loving hosting and sharing with couchsurfers.

PHILOSOPHY

Free your mind, your ass will follow!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Respectful and friendly, love to share the time I can with my guests or other couchsurfers. Come hiking, borrow a bike, or drop in for dinner! - House specials include the Egyptian Seafood Tagine. Sorry the Moroccan Chicken Tagine, and Kangaroo Bolognaise are off menu now that I am vego, but there's some great things to be done with pulses and the new pressure cooker!
When surfing I am handy around the home and happy to pitch in wherever my future travels might let me get some surfing in.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have hosted quite a few awesome guests over the last year or two and enjoy sharing my home every time. Some of my guests have changed me forever.

Interests

Here are a few of my favorite things:
Vintage furniture stores
Community radio
Tents and trails
Giving awesome massages
Bikes
Cooking
Swimming
Board games on a rainy day
Chat n chill by the fire

Music, Movies & Books

I'm so hopeless at this stuff, my brain doesn't initiate the conversation...but if you lead out I will have lots to say about music and books. I will probably play you my favorite radio stations when you are here too - non-commercial and you are bound to hear something new that you like.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

This one time, I sailed across Bass Straight with some friends to Hobart. It will always stick in my memory, especially the bit when the steering mechanism busted in heavy weather and we got battered about all day. I thought "Gee you are really out of your depth now". Then I thought "both figuratively and literally". Then I thought "that was a strange thing to think at a time like this".

Teach, Learn, Share

Probably the most easily teachable skill I have is fixing up bicycles - so if you have one to work on, I can run you through getting it back on the road. It's easy. In fact I will probably make a real mission out of it and spend far longer than necessary.
ANd cooking, I love to cook, I love to show people how to cook, and I will gladly make you something if you want do the dishes! If you are into food too, then connecting with people in the kitchen is one of the easiest things to do.

Join Couchsurfing to see callum_08's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile