Callum MacLean's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Callum’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Student!
  • Just finished my Bachelors degree in Conflict and Security
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy the summer!

ABOUT ME

I'm 31 living in Chatham, UK, and working in north London in the conflict transformation/peacebuilding field. My favourite things in life are music (first and foremost), other cultures and shared experience with others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Have hosted and been hosted, take part in local CS meetings and have also met other CSr's for drinks during travels

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first experience was a random message from another surfer (Angello Carrizo) i met the most amazing group of people and had the best experience of my life. Language assistants 09/10 I love each and every one of you! These people had some of the best qualites you could wish for in friends, it was more like a family, one that welcomed me with open arms even though i was just a random British guy that Angello had invited out one evening. Beautiful people, beautiful memories. I made soul brothers and sisters, fell in love, drank, danced and laughed!

I did my first ever solo travel to Israel and Palestine(back at end of 2011) and stayed with some great hosts.

Interests

firstly as stated before: music!
secondly: differences...i love to learn about other countries and cultures and am always amazed at how vastly different they can be, customs, food, music (of course), languages, history and politics! All of it!
Thirdly: SLEEPING :-)

  • dining
  • drinking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • backpacking
  • history
  • languages
  • solo travel

Music, Movies, and Books

I won't write off lists and lists bust as a basis...

movies: I'm a huge fan of films that encourage a sense of thought and nostalgia. Life in a day/The thin red line/ Biutiful/Babel etc......War/Action...anything with a few bombs, an AK47 and some fast cars and i'm pretty much happy. Do love a good comedy and can deal with the odd chick flick.

Music: Reggaeton, bachata, Drum n Bass, UK Hardcore, New Jack swing, Political hip hop, Folk, Trance, .... - If i'm in a club i will dance to anything.

Books: Paolo Coelho, Gabriel Garcia Maquez, Tolkien, Khalil Gibran, Khaled Hosseini

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1.Travelled five and a half thousand miles around the world for love.

2.Went on a mad whirlwind tour of the Holy land

3. Quit a secure government job complete with pension to don a backpack to go and save the world

4. Had a quarter life crisis and quit the job again to return to study (with the end goal of saving the world)

Teach, Learn, Share

I think the kind of experience Couchsurfing offers is not only to learn about other countries and languages etc but also a spiritual exchange. From my own experience i have helped others to discover more about themselves and in turn they taught me things about myself that i don't think i'd have discovered any other way!

I can also teach you to moonwalk ;-)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm exceptionally easy going and do not have high expectations. I am clean, tidy and respectful but also a lot of fun. I am at ease in almost every situation

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Israel, Jordan, Kosovo, Mexico, Palestine, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Callum’s full profile.

My Groups