Callum McLean's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Callum’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Dutch, French
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • ESL (English) Teacher / Writer & Editor
  • studying Cultural Analysis, University of Amsterdam; BA E...
  • From Brighton, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

(English below)
Soy un profesor / escritor / editor de Inglaterra (pero con madre de España), viviendo en Amsterdam. Este viaje me trae a México, Ecuador y Colombia, donde viven unos amigos míos. Me interesa mucho a conocer la gente de esos países, aprender más de sus culturas, historias y políticas, y practicar el idioma.

I'm an English teacher and writer/editor (with a Spanish mother), living in Amsterdam. I'm travelling through Mexico, Ecuador and Colombia mostly to see friends. I'm really interested to meet some locals to learn more about the culture/history/politics and to speak the language. BUT I'm also looking forward to meeting surfers and travellers from all over!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

(English below)
Como pone arriba, lo mas importante es conocer a gente. En general, he aprovechado de couchsurfing un poco para hospedar y quedarme con gente muy amable, pero sobre todo para quedar con gente internacional, viajeros y otras personas. ¡Espero que pueda hospedar mas en el futuro! Mira también a bajo sobre lo que quiero compartir.

As above, I'm most interested meeting new people. I've hosted and been hosted a few times but have mostly used CS to meet fellow travellers, internationals and others. Hoping to be able to host more in future! See also below re: sharing.

Interests

  • culture
  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • running
  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • tv
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • journalism

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: electronic (bass! weird house! breaks! etc.!), funk/soul/disco, weird pop, ambient, etc.
Movies: '60s/'70s classics, Thelma & Louise, campy horror (Evil Dead, John Carpenter)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Raised some money for local charities by organising two club nights in association with anti-racism group English Disco Lovers.

Biked from Calais, France to Prague.

What I Can Share with Hosts

(English below)
Como mínimo, no quiero ser una carga, y quiero ayudar con lo que pueda en la casa – cocinar, fregar, hacer la compra, etcetera. Claro que también me gusta traer regalitos: depende de la persona y el lugar desde que viajaré, pero quiero traer cositas de comida / especias / bebidas entre países (España –> México –> Ecuador –> Colombia) así que me avisas que te apetece. Pero además, como soy profesor / editor, me encantaría poder dar mis habilidades con el idioma a cambio de tu hospitalidad. Por favor, lo clarificamos desde el principio para que todos estén de acuerdo!

At minimum I don't want to burden hosts, and so will gladly help with what I can in the house: cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping etc. Of course I like to bring gifts, so depending on you and where I'm coming from I can bring food / spices / drinks / etc. – let me know what you'd like! Otherwise, given that I'm a writer/editor, I'd LOVE to offer my services when useful, in exchange for the hospitality. Please let's establish what works best for all of us from the beginning!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Callum’s full profile.

My Groups