Callum Ward's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Callum’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, German
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • BA Hons
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm currently travelling around every European Union country by motorcycle. I set off from Barcelona, Spain in mid-April and I will be on the road until mid-November.

I left the UK 8 years ago and have spent time living in various places in that time, though I have spent most time in Spain (Sevilla and Barcelona) and Greece (Athens and the mountains).

I'm talkative and enjoy meeting an speaking to people with a different outlooks and ways of living.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meeting new people is one of the most enjoyable parts of travelling and Couchsurfing is a great way to do it.

I feel that when travelling, it's easier to meet other travellers than anyone else, so Couchsurfing is a nice way to get to meet, learn and share with the people who actually live in the place you've travelled to.

I've done a lot of HelpX (work-exchanges) in the past as well as, like CouchSurfing, it's a great way to get a better understanding of a place whilst also giving something back.

Interests

I love art and literature and enjoying seeing the cultural sides of the places I visit.

Travelling by motorcycle is one of my favourte ways to travel - it opens up so many possibilities and roads you wouldn't otherwise have travelled down. It's great to see big cities and popular places, but some of the most interesting places I've been are the small and relatively unknown places on the map.

I love good food, both eating it and cooking it (I'm better at eating it, but can cook as well). An evening or even a day in the kitchen with friends is always a good time.

  • arts
  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • architecture
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • backpacking
  • art history
  • history
  • language exchange
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't really stick to any one genre and what I listen to changes with my mood. I love discovering new music and sharing the music I love with others. A representative sample of what I listen to would be: Philip Glass, Micheal Nyman, Massive Attack, Portishead, PJ Harvey, The Cinematic Orchestra, Thievery Corporation, Chopin, Pergolese, Modest Mouse, Juanito Makande, A Tribe Called Quest, The Pharcyde, Aphex Twin, Clark, Billie Holiday, Dinah Washington, Jeff Buckley. It changes week to week.

I love film, though I'm not really one for the big hollywood blockbusters (with a few exceptions). I'm usually drawn to independent films and things that are a little more experimental.

Literature has always been a passion of mine, have quite a few favourite authors but I feel books are something easier to discuss in person. I like a combination of fiction and non-fiction. Recently I've been reading Svetlana Alexievitch and Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a native English speaker and I'm happy to help people with reading, writing, speaking and listening. I also speak Spanish having lived in Spain for a number of years.

I have a basic level of French and German and I'm always grateful for opportunity to practice.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Interesting conversation, a releaxed and open attitude and I'm always happy to help out around the place.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Malta, Morocco, Netherlands, Romania, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Greece, New Zealand, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Callum’s full profile. It’s free!