Camille Vincent's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Camille’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Korean
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Project Assistant
  • MA Arts, Festivals and Cultural Management
  • From Toulouse, Midi-Pyrénées, France
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

I'm a British-French expat living in Edinburgh, Scotland. I first moved to the UK in 2012 to study on the Erasmus Exchange Programme in Cardiff, Wales. I had the time of my life and didn't want to go back to France yet. I was lucky to find a Master in Arts, Festivals and Cultural Management in Edinburgh. I worked in festivals throughout my studies and managed to get a job after graduation, in the charity sector promoting mental health and wellbeing for the LGBTQI community.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because I don't like chain hotels or tourist resorts. Although I like the old American motel (that's mainly because I love road trip movies), I prefer staying somewhere local. Most of all, it's a great way to meet people and have a good giggle.

Interests

I enjoy any outside activities, fishing, camping, hiking, driving around the country side, swimming in lakes, campfires, naps under weepy-willows, etc... I like to spend time in nature, to the point that in 20 years, I picture myself with a cottage in Scotland, a lake and a dog.

I'm a music lover and fun company during gigs and festivals. You won't have to ask me twice to go in the pit and dance. You'll see my best dance moves on Funk/Old School Hip-Hop music but any good beat will keep me going the entire night.

I love to learn languages. I am currently learning Korean for my East Asia trip. People are often put off by the alphabet (Hangul) but I swear that I have never seen such a clever and easy writting system before. Japanese is a language we were always interested in with my sister and we would both teach each others by watching movies and TV shows in Japanese. I'm still a beginner and plan on getting more fluent when I'm comfortable with Korean.

I love photography and urban exploration. I have a collection of film cameras and like to take them out and experiment in the city (I have an obsession for double-exposure).

  • arts
  • culture
  • photography
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • beer
  • pub crawls
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • languages
  • urban exploration

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: electro (down-tempo, chill, ambient, future garage), funk, old-school hip-hop, 90's pop, reggae/dub, emo/punk rock

Movie: heads down, the Big Lebowsky

Books: anything from Noam Chomsky

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to share experiences with photographers and go on shooting trips. I can teach you some of the basics of photography in order for you to let go of the automatic features and go for the manual and more creative one.

I tried surfing but would love to keep on learning, same for skating. I am also very interested in carpentry and wood work. My grand father was a great carpenter and did some amazing work in my parents' house. I want to learn how to make things by myself and love the craft lifestyle. I want to learn it properly so I'm trying to find plans to start me up.

As I'm French, I grew up with food and the table culture. I'm not from South of France for nothing: food is serious business. No crappy McDonalds but a good ribeye steak from the local butcher. And of course, a meal would be nothing without booze. If you're bold, I'll join you for a whisky digestive at the end. I always love to share a feast so if you come over, I'll make sure you are fed properly (promise, I'm not like my grandma).

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you like having a good laugh and taking it easy, come and share a piece of your life with me. I can show you around Edinburgh on a local level. We'll go to some of my favourite spots for music, beer and whisky.

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Germany, Ireland, Scotland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Scotland, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Camille’s full profile. It’s free!